Beer Chops I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I'm sure lots of people would like this but my family did not. I don't actually eat pork but my husband was too skeptical on the beer as an ingredient. He didn't even try them after I cooked them so for us, it didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bawkbagawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This recipe is terrible. I will agree that the pork chops were tender, but the beer taste was terrible. I even tried saving dinner by taking the chops out of the beer soup, putting them in another dish and covering them with Cream of Mushroom soup and baking a few more minutes, but the beer taste could not be masked. I don't understand how others thought this was a good recipe! Yuk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Excellent! The first time I've tried cooking/marinating with beer! Very tender, "cut with your fork" chops...the onions were decadent. My husband even ate them--and he dislikes onions intensely! So easy and so simple...yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great recipe! I used light beer, 3 chicken bouillon cubes, salt, pepper, garlic and thickened it up with some flour/water the last 15 minutes of cooking time. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
We didn't like this recipe. I used 1/2 the amt. of beer, but the taste still over powered the recipe. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
While the meat was extremely tender, it really lacked taste! If I did it again I would use a 1/2 can of beer and add ALOT of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I followed Midnight Angels advice, but instead of beer I used 1 cup Merlot wine. It was very good and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is one of my families favorite pork chop recipes. I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup to make the gravy a little thicker. You can also use Chicken instead of Pork Chops. Mine didn't have a beer taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I read the reviews on this and was skeptical at first. But my husband really wanted to try it. After reading them I thought I would use some hints and my own tips to better this recipe to our taste buds. Tried it and it was a Fav! Was wonderful! Here is what I did.... My variation Half the amount of beer. Pinch each of: Onion Salt - Mrs. Dash - Lawry's Seasoning Salt - Pepper - 1 can Cream Of Mushroom w/ Roasted Garlic (used Campbell's variety) This time using thinner pork chops lightly floured them and seared them just to the browning point in 2 tbsp of oil (butter would work too) before placing in the 9x13 pan. Added the onions next. Sprinkled w/ seasonings and then the soup mixed w/ the beer. I cooked this in a 325 degree oven for about 2 hours (pork chops were thinner - so didnt need that much cooking time) Times will vary I suppose on size. We will be eating this again real soon! And next time will use thicker pork chops as well. Also I had a great easy one step gravy mixture for using over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This worked great for my family. I added 3 bullion cubes, garlic, salt/pepper to taste. The beer flavor was not present like some reviews, maybe because I cooked mine on high, for 4 hrs which brought it to a boil. Very tender!!! Kids loved it, will serve again, great on egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States