Beer Chops I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
If you want a four star recipe out of this...the key is to take the advice of the other raters! I hope everyone that tries this recipe reads the ratings first! I changed this recipe to go as follows (based on the suggestions of the other raters--and then it should come out more like 4-5 stars!): Ingredients: 6 Boneless Pork Chops (Or really whatever you want to use...even chicken) 1 onion sliced 1-2 Cans Cream of Mushroom soup (depending on how saucy you want it-I used 1 can cream of mush., and 1 can cream of chick.) 1/2 Cup Beer (I prefer to use dark ale) S&P, Garlic Salt, Seasoning Salt to prefrence Season pork with above seasonings. Fry onions & pork in olive oil or butter in skillet until browned. Place in crock pot. In seperate bowl, mix together soups & beer, and pour into crock pot. (I added a dab of BBQ sauce). Cook on low 6-8 hours or on high 2-4 hours. Good luck! This recipe, in my opinion, is worth trying if tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
We didn't care for this recipe. I gave it one star because it did smell very good and the suggestion to make gravy with the cream of mushroom (I used chicken) made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACINGGREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Great recipe, though be aware that the beer used can make or break the taste, good beer will result in a good taste and vice versa. If you are not a fan of beer try using hard apple cider (or regular cider). I've made this both ways and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
A bottle of Guinness made this recipe a smash hit. I too added cream of mushroom soup and fresh garlic, seasoned salt, etc. I also added potatoes during the last hour of cooking. My husband absolutely loved, loved, loved this recipe. It was a huge hit and he was looking forward to leftovers of it. I cooked mine in about 4 hours on high and the pork was very moist and tender. Made the house smell so good and we could not detect any overt beer taste, just wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Super easy and super yummy! My kids even ate the onions. You can speed up the recipe by doing the first two hours on high and then lower the slow cooker to low for about three more hours. Still comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very good..I actually made this on the stove top not the crock pot and added a little butter to the beer and it was very good...thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
MY FAMILY LOVED THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. I added some potatoes about two hours before the end of cooking. I took the broth and onions, poured them in a pan, and added a can of cream of mushroom soup with 1/4 teaspoon poultry seasoning and made a gravy. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I tried this recipe and we loved it. I used four butterfly chops and didn't cut them in half. I layered the onion slices with the pork chops, used 3 cans of lite beer and 6 boullon cubes. It was delish on hawaiin roll buns. We will definately have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
very quick and easy and tastes great and easy on the budget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States