Beer Chops I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Another reviewer was right - this IS what pork is supposed to taste like!! I didn't have bouillon cubes - so I used gray sea salt, pepper, a bay leaf, poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and Cajun seasoning. I used a bottle of extra pale ale AND a bottle of Miller Draft. Once it was done - I removed the meat, onions, and bay leaf and poured the remaining liquid in a pot. I added more Cajun seasoning, a little water, milk, and Wondra and made a thick gravy. Topped it all off with crumbled cooked bacon - and yummy!! I will make this again and again!!!!!!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I gave this a three because I wasn't all that impressed, my in-laws and husband loved it, I love beer, but it didn't turn out as I expected, I added a few things such as red potatoes, fresh garlic, Tony's, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup. If I make it again I think I will try Bud or Bud Light rather than a local dark beer. And the chops were kinda dry,I make better, jucier ones on the grill. I'm sure it's an excellent recipe if you know what you are doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
My husband's comment: "Now THAT's how pork should taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I don't think I will make this again. I followed the recipe exactly, but I added some cream of mushroom soup like others suggested. The beer taste was just to much for us, I used Killians beer which is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Easy, quick, tender but needs something else added for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
First thing's first, the chops DEFINITELY taste like beer...so if you don't like beer, you probably won't like this recipe. I thought it was pretty good. I took advice from other reviewers and added a can of cream of mushroom soup, used Guiness, and seasoned the chops with seasoning salt and onion & garlic powders. Next time I will defintely add a can of mushrooms. I thickened the sauce with 1 tablespoon cornstarch and served all over brown rice. Very easy to make, low in fat, and high in protein...you can't beat that! I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I am giving this a 4 because my husband loved it. I hated it and would have given it a 2, but to be fair I think it's because of the beer I used. As others suggested, I used Guinness, even though I don't like Guinness! The taste was just overwhelming for me. As others also suggested, I mixed the beer with one can of cream of mushroom soup, but to be honest all I could taste was Guinness! My husband loves Guinness and said this is some of the best pork I've made, so go figure! I did come out very tender and juicy - not at all dry. So I guess just use beer that you would actually drink and then you will probably like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
The pork was super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
My family liked the modified recipe - we used a can of Guinness and two cans of Campell's cream of mushrooms. Also used carrots instead of potatoes. We don't have a slow cooker, so I simmered it on the stove for the whole afternoon instead. It smelled fantastic and my parents asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Turned out really good, used all the suggestions from Alissa (below) and it did turn out to be a 4 star recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States