Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very nice and smooth, but needs a little kick for more flavor. I tried a little liquid smoke to help the bacon, and it worked. Just a little, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good! I used dark beer one time (Shiner Bock) and Budweiser one time. The dark beer gave it a much more complex, interesting flavor. The Bud didn't do much for it at all. I also followed the advice of another commenter and dissolved the cornstarch in the chicken broth then added it and brought it to a boil, then added beer and brought to a boil, then slowly added the cheese by the small handful (I used sharp cheddar) and let it dissolve before adding more, stirring very often. I also cooked and crumbled some bacon for sprinkles and bought a loaf of dense, dark German bread which I toasted. Very delicious and easy! 2/26/09 I just noticed a mistake: I add the cream before I add the cheese. But, I have changed the way I make this soup! I make it all the time. I have been cooking 1/2 lb. of bacon in pot then cooking the onion and garlic in bacon grease. I changed it around and now use the beer to deglaze the pan, then bring to a boil for 3 minutes, then add chicken broth and cornstarch and bring to a boil. Next I turn the heat down and add the cream or half-n-half. I do slowly add the cheese by sprinkling it over the surface of the liquid and letting it melt. I stir that in and then repeat til I used all the cheese. I serve the crumbled bacon and sour cream for toppers. I also put a whole yellow onion in and I think it makes the soup more filling. My soup is usually pretty thick so I just add more chicken broth to make it the consistancy I like and that includes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This turned out grainy for us too. I followed the recipe exactly (for once) and we were not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
The flavor was nice (would have been better if we had a stronger beer). Mine curdled and had a very grainy texture; I don't know if that was the recipe or just me. Will try again, with stronger beer to get more flavor, and hope for the thick, smooth, velvety texture of the restaurant soups I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I gave this recipe three stars..even though when all was said and done it turned out great! I didn't care too much for the recipe "as is" so after I had a few bites, I boiled potatoes, carrots, and 1 chicken bullion cube until tender. I also threw some polish sausage in a pan to heat, and then cut length-wise and sliced small pieces. With all of the extra add-ins, the soup was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
The idea of this soup is great. I found I had to make some changes. I added more garlic and more onion. I used 2 tsp of worcestershire sauce. I added an extra tbsp of cornstarch to thicken and I used 3 cups of cheese. It was a little grainy but it was still delicious. Next time I will serve in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We LOVE this soup!! We like to add a little dry mustard & extra worsestershire....served with warm bread for dunking.....yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayandBruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a very good recipe. Use additional cornstarch if it isn't thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I have made this twice. Once exactly as written -- it was okay. Next time I reduced the beer by 1/2 and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I used a dark beer...instead of butter or margerine, I used bacon cut in small pieces. After the beer had time to "burn off" the alcohol, I put the base in a food processor to make the onion and bacon in to very small pieces. I didn't use any water but added the corn starch to the chicken broth(3 1/2 cups). Used 4 cups of sharp cheddar, 2 two cup pakages of Kraft preshredded....very good...both of my picky teens ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYMAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States