Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Excellent and very cheesy. It was super easy to make and took a very short time. I served it with some home made bread. My cornstarch/water mix congealed when I added after the stock but before the half and half (as another reviewer suggested) so next time I will try either doing the recipe exactly like it says or a different way to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I don't really follow recipes, but I used this as a jumping off point for a soup appetizer and it worked out great! I even made a smaller pot for myself for lunch the next day (except with some old cheap wine I had left in the fridge), and it worked great. Used flour and butter to make a rue to thicken it, because it's what I had on hand, and a mixture of sharp and mild cheddar to keep away some of the bitterness of sharp. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This being the first time Ive made Beer cheese soup, it was pretty tasty. I used Stella Artois, and it had a strong taste. Ill use 1/2 the beer next time, and I caramelized the onions before adding the beer. For cheese, I used smoked cheddar and that gave a great flavor. And next time, Ill use heavy cream instead of half and half to give a thicker consistency. All in all, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalchef117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Wonderful! Very rich and full of flavor. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband made this (one of the few times I have ever seen him follow a recipe for anyhting). I had been hesitant but was very pleasantly surprised. We decided mid-afternoon on a rainy day we wanted to try a new soup recipe. IT was incredible how a delicious soup could be this easy and relatively quick to make on the spur of the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
i followed the recipe but then added an extra cup of cheese and doubled the worsteshire. to finish it off i added cut up pieces of bratwurst soaked in beer garlic and onions all day. it was far better than any i've had before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Oh yeah. A flavorful beer even adds more dimension (Used 1554 beer). Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
In terms of flavor, something was missing. It was too bland and too beer laden for my liking. Too, I like a thicker soup than this recipe turned out to be. I also ended up with cheese granules, despite following the recipe to a "T." I was disappointed to be sure and almost gave the recipe a "2," but I think it has potential if one follows some of the reviewer suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very rich. I served it with meatballs and it was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Awesome and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States