Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The key to this soup is patience! It needs to come to a boil after the corn starch is added, and it will thicken quickly. It is important to boil it slowly and stir constantly to avoid scorching. Another tip: I pureed the soup in a blender after cooling for a velvety smooth texture. I have tried it with milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2, and it is just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Added an extra half a cup of cheese as the soup was a little thin. Otherwise it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This soup is fantastic! I made a few changes: used 4 cups of sharp cheddar rather than 2, I cut my onions pretty chunky, they gave it great texture. Also, I mixed my cornstarch with chicken broth instead of water. And I let it simmer for atleast 5 extra minutes to get the thick consistency I wanted. We serve this up in sourdough bread bowls and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I do not like cheese soup so the 5 stars comes from my Wisconsin born husband who loves the stuff. I made it as directed, but I just mixed the cornstarch with a little of the the leftover chicken broth and brought it up to just before it boiled then took it down to a simmer, constantly whisking while heating. I also doubled the cheese & worcestershire and added a some parmesan, salt and a little pepper. Once everything was added I cooked it on low and stirred constantly for about 10-15 min. It thickened up perfectly. If you like beer cheese soup this is a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very easy to make and ended up being just what I had expected. I didn't have time to serve garnished with bacon bits (I forgot to get some bacon at the store) so I tried with the bar tradition of popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Excellent and very cheesy. It was super easy to make and took a very short time. I served it with some home made bread. My cornstarch/water mix congealed when I added after the stock but before the half and half (as another reviewer suggested) so next time I will try either doing the recipe exactly like it says or a different way to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I don't really follow recipes, but I used this as a jumping off point for a soup appetizer and it worked out great! I even made a smaller pot for myself for lunch the next day (except with some old cheap wine I had left in the fridge), and it worked great. Used flour and butter to make a rue to thicken it, because it's what I had on hand, and a mixture of sharp and mild cheddar to keep away some of the bitterness of sharp. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This being the first time Ive made Beer cheese soup, it was pretty tasty. I used Stella Artois, and it had a strong taste. Ill use 1/2 the beer next time, and I caramelized the onions before adding the beer. For cheese, I used smoked cheddar and that gave a great flavor. And next time, Ill use heavy cream instead of half and half to give a thicker consistency. All in all, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalchef117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Wonderful! Very rich and full of flavor. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband made this (one of the few times I have ever seen him follow a recipe for anyhting). I had been hesitant but was very pleasantly surprised. We decided mid-afternoon on a rainy day we wanted to try a new soup recipe. IT was incredible how a delicious soup could be this easy and relatively quick to make on the spur of the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States