Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Wish I could give this 5 stars, but it needs some work.. This is a really tasty soup with some seasoning.. not sure what was missing, I ended up adding white pepper, chopped onion (as suggested by another reader) and more cheese... But absolutely take the advice of OHENZIGURI in regards to the slurry.. my soup turned out at the perfect thickness with her direction (and thanks for that! nothing worse than watery Cheese soup!) Overall, not bad, but have definitely had better. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My daughter and I LOVE Beer Cheese Soup, but not this one. There just wasn't any flavor to it. Totally disappointed. Keeping this recipe to know what NOT to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weenandthemollusk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I got quite a few compliments on this one. I read other reviews that had difficulty with the consistancy of the soup, so I didn't mess around with it. I used a 1/2 cup of butter to fry the onion/garlic, then I added flour to make a roux and thinned it out with chicken broth. After I had a base that had some thickness to it, I transferred it to a dutch oven and added the half-and-half, worcestershire, beer and cheese. We didn't love the taste of it the next day, it was almost like it went a little sour in the fridge, but the first day I served it, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was OK but seemed to be missing something. I even added additional minced garlic plus garlic salt and ground mustard - still wasn't quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Flavor was awesome, but it was too thin for us. My 3 year old had 2 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is excellent! Very similar to the Ale & Cheddar soup at one of our favorite restaurants. I do like my soup a little thick so added extra corn starch, be sure to bring the soup to a boil with the starch in it, as it won't thicken until it has come to a rolling boil! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this beer cheddar soup recipe.. have made it about 4 times now and it is a great recipe. I add more cheddar to thicken it a bit more but other than that it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The worchestshire gave too much. I would half it and add mustard instead. Also, use a light beer as instructed, I used a pale ale, and it didn't taste great. I enjoyed it, but my husband and son DID NOT. Needs definite improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsleah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good soup, I used fat free half and half and reduced fat cheddar cheese to cut down on some of the fat and calories, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
my whole family LOVED this soup on a snowy day served with hot sandwiches!! I didn't change ANYTHING from the recipe. I used Michelob light beer in it. Will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States