Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I love beer cheese soup and have tried several recipes with success before, but this one was lacking in flavor and left a strange after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
very weird texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is a good, quick & easy soup! I added the cornstarch slurry after the chicken broth & let it boil (while stiring with a whisk) until it was almost as thick as gravy, then added the 1/2 & 1/2 and cheese. I used Redbridge Gluten-Free beer and also added some ground ginger, celery salt and parsley. Next time, I'm going to try it with red potatoes and bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I made as suggested and it was great! Next time, I will add the cornstarch mixture before the 1/2 & 1/2 and bring to a boil. My guys especially liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
All I have to say is YUMMY! I think it tasted better than I thought it would! I didn't change a thing. Thank you for posting this recipe it was very flavorful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I wish I would have tried a different recipe. I read about 15 of the reviews, and took the advice of others. I added extra seasoning, and added in the cornstarch correctly. However, this recipe came up short. Very disappointing. The flavor just missed something, and the consistency was not great either. I am happy that others had success at this recipe, but for me, it was a flop and I have been preparing meals for 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasJG
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Really good and satisfying with some crusty bread and a salad for dinner. I doubled the recipe and that worked well. I made a few very minor changes. I sauteed the onions and garlic in a butter/olive oil mixture, instead of margarine. I did swap the light beer for some German Oktoberfest brew (it's against our religion to have light beer in the house). I boiled it a bit longer to make sure the alcohol was cooked off, since the German beer is stronger. I also didn't have enough cornstarch because of said doubled recipe, so I substituted brown rice flour for the cornstarch 1 for 1, and it worked fine. I imagine flour would be OK, too, or even potato starch. Instead of bacon, which I was too lazy to cook up, I sprinkled fresh chives on top. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!! - followed the recipe with essentially no changes. Followed someone's suggestion to make sure that I mix the corn starch with COLD water before adding - worked perfectly - thick soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and my family (full of picky eaters in one way or another) were practically licking the bowls! I took suggestions from a lot of other reviews, but the only changes I made were flour as a thickening, and a mixture of white and yellow extra sharp cheddar cheese. I can't rave about it enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was a fairly good recipe. I do not understand the reviews of the recipe being too thin. I simmered the soup slowly, and it thickened up nicely. A good sharp cheese really helps the flavor. I served it with fresh bread. All and all I found it a tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States