Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
All I have to say is YUMMY! I think it tasted better than I thought it would! I didn't change a thing. Thank you for posting this recipe it was very flavorful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I wish I would have tried a different recipe. I read about 15 of the reviews, and took the advice of others. I added extra seasoning, and added in the cornstarch correctly. However, this recipe came up short. Very disappointing. The flavor just missed something, and the consistency was not great either. I am happy that others had success at this recipe, but for me, it was a flop and I have been preparing meals for 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasJG
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Really good and satisfying with some crusty bread and a salad for dinner. I doubled the recipe and that worked well. I made a few very minor changes. I sauteed the onions and garlic in a butter/olive oil mixture, instead of margarine. I did swap the light beer for some German Oktoberfest brew (it's against our religion to have light beer in the house). I boiled it a bit longer to make sure the alcohol was cooked off, since the German beer is stronger. I also didn't have enough cornstarch because of said doubled recipe, so I substituted brown rice flour for the cornstarch 1 for 1, and it worked fine. I imagine flour would be OK, too, or even potato starch. Instead of bacon, which I was too lazy to cook up, I sprinkled fresh chives on top. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!! - followed the recipe with essentially no changes. Followed someone's suggestion to make sure that I mix the corn starch with COLD water before adding - worked perfectly - thick soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and my family (full of picky eaters in one way or another) were practically licking the bowls! I took suggestions from a lot of other reviews, but the only changes I made were flour as a thickening, and a mixture of white and yellow extra sharp cheddar cheese. I can't rave about it enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was a fairly good recipe. I do not understand the reviews of the recipe being too thin. I simmered the soup slowly, and it thickened up nicely. A good sharp cheese really helps the flavor. I served it with fresh bread. All and all I found it a tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bargello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
In lieu of adding more cornstarch as a thicking agent you night try adding instant potato buds, they not only thicken but add flavor as well. Just add them a small amount at a time. I do this with most of my soups. To add a little more interest you might add a dash of paprika or a touch of creamed horseradish. I add horseradish to my mac n' cheese, does wonders for the flavor. "Tillamook", from Oregon, extra sharp cheese is fantastic in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Wish I could give this 5 stars, but it needs some work.. This is a really tasty soup with some seasoning.. not sure what was missing, I ended up adding white pepper, chopped onion (as suggested by another reader) and more cheese... But absolutely take the advice of OHENZIGURI in regards to the slurry.. my soup turned out at the perfect thickness with her direction (and thanks for that! nothing worse than watery Cheese soup!) Overall, not bad, but have definitely had better. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
My daughter and I LOVE Beer Cheese Soup, but not this one. There just wasn't any flavor to it. Totally disappointed. Keeping this recipe to know what NOT to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weenandthemollusk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I got quite a few compliments on this one. I read other reviews that had difficulty with the consistancy of the soup, so I didn't mess around with it. I used a 1/2 cup of butter to fry the onion/garlic, then I added flour to make a roux and thinned it out with chicken broth. After I had a base that had some thickness to it, I transferred it to a dutch oven and added the half-and-half, worcestershire, beer and cheese. We didn't love the taste of it the next day, it was almost like it went a little sour in the fridge, but the first day I served it, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States