Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was really good and perfect to eat on a cold day. I used 1 1/2 cups of vegetable broth instead of a can of chicken broth. I added the cornstarch/water mixture along with broth and the soup was perfectly thick. We served this with cheese sprinkled on top and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I did not get it thick either and I didn't like the flavor. I'll be experimenting to find the right consistency and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Had the exact flavor I was looking for! I used 1 cup half and half and one cup 1% milk instead of 2 cups half and half. Also, I did adjust the recipe slightly by adding more broth and 1% milk at the end... a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I use the recipe as a general guideline, but play around with the nuances. I don't think i've made it exactly the same way twice, but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The flavor was alright but it had a strange texture...kinda gritty. I'll keep looking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Having only had beer cheese soup before at the MN Renaissance Festival this was a pretty close match for a simple/basic recipe which was just what we were looking for without all the fancy extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I have been looking for a good beer and cheese soup recipe for a long time. I discovered this soup when i was pregnant in 09 and could never find a good recipe until i came across this one. It's perfect and amazing. The only thing i changed was using a Pale Ale insead of a light beer, it gives it such a good flavor. I dont even like Ale beer but its a must for this soup, also i doubled the cheese and added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This has become a favorite recipe for me, I make it all the time! Generally, I alter mine to include potatoes, carrots, and cabbage at the same stage as the onions, cooking until the veggies are tender before I move on to the rest of the recipe. I find this allows it to be more of a full meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YALIINA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was a pretty easy and delicious recipe with just a couple of minor additions. I followed a previous reviewer's recommendation of adding the cornstarch (I actually just used flour since I couldn't find the cornstarch) while the stock was boiling, and then reducing before adding cheese and cream. My additions were: some ground mustard seed, a little bit of basil, and some more garlic. I also added almost a cup of extra cheese, and topped with bacon pieces and green onions. Mmmmm.... We enjoyed this immensely with salad and yeast rolls on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YALIINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I just didn't like the taste of this soup. It turned out pretty bland-I could taste more Worcestershire than anything-the beer flavor was lost. I'd recommend trying a stronger beer (I used MGD light)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHSNC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States