Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The flavor was alright but it had a strange texture...kinda gritty. I'll keep looking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Having only had beer cheese soup before at the MN Renaissance Festival this was a pretty close match for a simple/basic recipe which was just what we were looking for without all the fancy extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I have been looking for a good beer and cheese soup recipe for a long time. I discovered this soup when i was pregnant in 09 and could never find a good recipe until i came across this one. It's perfect and amazing. The only thing i changed was using a Pale Ale insead of a light beer, it gives it such a good flavor. I dont even like Ale beer but its a must for this soup, also i doubled the cheese and added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Enjoy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This has become a favorite recipe for me, I make it all the time! Generally, I alter mine to include potatoes, carrots, and cabbage at the same stage as the onions, cooking until the veggies are tender before I move on to the rest of the recipe. I find this allows it to be more of a full meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YALIINA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was a pretty easy and delicious recipe with just a couple of minor additions. I followed a previous reviewer's recommendation of adding the cornstarch (I actually just used flour since I couldn't find the cornstarch) while the stock was boiling, and then reducing before adding cheese and cream. My additions were: some ground mustard seed, a little bit of basil, and some more garlic. I also added almost a cup of extra cheese, and topped with bacon pieces and green onions. Mmmmm.... We enjoyed this immensely with salad and yeast rolls on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YALIINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I just didn't like the taste of this soup. It turned out pretty bland-I could taste more Worcestershire than anything-the beer flavor was lost. I'd recommend trying a stronger beer (I used MGD light)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHSNC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Good Soup for my Husband who loves beer soup as a New Year's Day tradition - but not what he wanted - I will have to keep searching
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious and super easy to make. Great stick to the ribs soup for a cold night in, especially with warm and crusty bread. If made exactly as recipe is written it turns out great...no need to make changes, just do it correctly and the corn starch mixture thickens beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
LOVE this soup! Shallots are a nice touch in place of onions if you happen to have them on hand. Fresh chicken broth instead of canned. I also usually throw in a bit more cheese than it calls for. A nice dark ale adds a good flavor. As far as thickening, I add a touch of extra cornstarch than the recipe calls for and allow it to reach a boil after I add the mixture, before turning it down to low. This soup is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
i agree with previous reviews. this soup had a really weird look/texture. it looked really gritty. i added more chicken broth, more worcestershire sauce, lots of black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and cayenne pepper just to give it more of the bite that i was expecting (such as previous beer cheese soups i've had). also, if i make this again, i will be taking people's advice and using a dark beer. all i had was bud light and it did not add anything to the recipe. dunked some crescent rolls in this. not bad. but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States