Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very good- very easy. I followed the last review posted and added the cornstarch mixture to thicken, then the half&half and cheese last- and until melted- not boiling. It makes sense not to boil the half&half- much creamier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My teenage daughter loves this soup. I serve it with crusty bread . . . makes a very satisfying lunch on chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
It didn't thicken up very well and I followed the recipe to the letter. Not the best flavor either. It was OK, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I found the consistency of the soup to be right on, you have to be patient and it will thicklen. It was also very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was so easy to make and it turned out great! My coworkers always want me to bring it to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbmayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was super tasty. I followed the recipe exactly. I've made it a few times, and every time I have a slight problem with the texture. It's a little grainy, but the flavor is still delicious so I've made it again and again. Also, I used Land Shark lager. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was really good and perfect to eat on a cold day. I used 1 1/2 cups of vegetable broth instead of a can of chicken broth. I added the cornstarch/water mixture along with broth and the soup was perfectly thick. We served this with cheese sprinkled on top and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I did not get it thick either and I didn't like the flavor. I'll be experimenting to find the right consistency and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Longville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Had the exact flavor I was looking for! I used 1 cup half and half and one cup 1% milk instead of 2 cups half and half. Also, I did adjust the recipe slightly by adding more broth and 1% milk at the end... a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I use the recipe as a general guideline, but play around with the nuances. I don't think i've made it exactly the same way twice, but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIOOP109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States