Beer Cheese Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Pretty good soup! I used flour instead of the cornstarch and mixed it up with the cheese before adding. I used shredded cheese and mine was not grainy. It was a little thin, so I think next time I might add another cup of cheese, but other than that it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Awesome! Everyone loved this. I added canned veggies to my toddlers bowl and she devoured it. One noteworthy change...the reason I made this was because I accidentally bought packaged sliced sharp american cheese and was looking for something to make with it. While it doesn't sound as tasty as true sharp cheese - it turned out perfect. Also mixed the cornstarch/water mixture with the beer to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I didn't care for the texture of this soup at all it was very grainy. If I tried it again I would take the recommendation from others and not use bagged cheese. The flavor was ok but it just didn't really work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
takes a while to make, not a simple 10 min soup, but boy is it worth it!!! play with the types of beer used for different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
It was ok as a base, but I had to add more beer, more cheese, more Worcestershire sauce, and a lot more cornstarch. I used generic-brand sharp cheddar cheese, pre-grated, and had no problems with graininess. I think that was due to the fact that I added the cornstarch slurry before the cheese & 1/2 and 1/2. I didn't boil it after that, as that could cause the cheese to separate. It was pretty good after I made the adjustments, but without them, it wasn't what I was looking for in an authentic beer cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was way good. My husband and I had a blast making this, and even reheated it in the crockpot the next day and finished it off with our family. We added two large cubed potatoes to the mix and it was just unbelieveable!! WONDERFUL! Crystal T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was delicious! I used flour instead of corn starch so it would be better when it's reheated, though. I also didnt have any Worcestershire sauce on hand, and it was still delicious! This will definitely be my standby beer and cheese soup recipe from now on. Next time I wanna make it with white cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This recipe is a good one. This recipe is a very fast prepped soup and turns out so awesome. I will use this recipe many more times. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I have made this version many times and it always turns out well since I substitute Kraft Velveeta cheese instead of shredded cheddar cheese. I made it once with cheddar and didn't like how it turned out. But it is smooth with the Velveeta. I also use a particular type of beer called Chili Beer, it gives it a little extra kick! Everyone I have served this to loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a great recipe! Very easy to follow and the taste is awesome. I topped mine with plain popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States