Beer Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is SO good! I followed the advice to add Velveeta (about 6 ounces). Since it did that, I used slightly less shredded sharp chedder (about 2 ounces less). I didn't have green onion on hand, so I used yellow onion, and light beer so it wouldn't overwhelm the soup. I salted and peppered the veggies while they sauteed and I forgot to steam the cauliflower separately, but it cooked perfectly during the 20 minute simmer. I didn't want to use 3/4 cup butter, so I used a few tbsps olive oil, and a couple tbsp light butter. I can't believe how good this soup is - the best soup I've had! I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this exactly as written, only using mild Cheddar rather than sharp, and light beer - and was initially very unimpressed. While I loved the chunkiness of the vegetables, the broth itself was watery rather than creamy and even had flecks or grains of cheese in it - not pretty. I took a guess on what would correct this and added a good chunk of Velveeta, noted for it's smoothness and melting quality. I can't tell you what an incredible difference this made! The soup was totally transformed and became creamy, rich and smooth! I was so pleased! Even though to start I really wanted to rate this as three stars, the soup ended up being so darn good I didn't want to take the risk of turning anyone off to it. With just this small change of adding Velveeta, this became a five star soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I really loved this soup! This has to be one of the best soups I've made/eaten - and I don't like beer! I didn't have any califlower but used potatoes, adding them with all the other veggies. I added a bit of sour cream in the end and I had less than a bottle of beer to put in it but you could still taste it. We topped it with additional parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was very tasty - my new favorite way to eat cauliflower! The recipe called for 3/4 cup of butter. I only used 1/4 cup of butter, and it was fine. I also used low-sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken, and about 1/2 cup more carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Be careful which beer you choose. I used a dark beer with a slightly bitter after taste and was disappointed. I added Velveeta, a brick of cream cheese and a 1/2 cup of parmesean cheese to make it better. It made a decent cheese sauce, but next time I'll try Beer Cheese soup III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Would have been perfect without celery. It just doesn't go well with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUIFAIS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This soup is so easy and turned out great. I omitted the mushrooms, celery, cauliflower and onions because I didn't have any. Instead I used frozen mixed veggies, corn, peas carrots, and added broccoli. My 2 and 4 year old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookie39
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Awesome soup, served with chunks of crusty french bread! I used Henry Weinhard's Organic Amber Premium Ale for the beer. The taste was a little too "sophisticated" for my 15 year old though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I forgot to mention I used 16 oz of sharp cheddar instead of 8 and also omitted the parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I'm sorry. Way too much beer flavor. I thought the beer would cook off more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States