Beer Cheese Pretzel Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I love this dip and make it all the time. The only thing I do is use a heaping TBSP of dry chopped onion and I rehydrate it in the beer before I add it to the recipe. I also don't add seasoned salt since the ranch makes it pretty salty. Great with pretzels. You'll never go home with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this for a family gathering at Christmas, New Year's and put a bowl out with fresh veggies to hold off the crowd til dinner could get done at Easter. There has never been any leftover. My 8 year old GS said we should just plan on having it "everytime" we get together even when he just comes to visit for a weekend!! Delicious, easy, simple ingredients. Can't ask for more. **UPDATE** Well, here it is late 8/2011 and he's here visiting. He specifically asked that we make this today. Heading to store for another brick of cream cheese. Doing only "half" of this recipe is a complete waste of time in my house!! When kids ask for it by name and dig in with glee with their celery sticks, how can you say no to that kind of celebration!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
At first, I thought this tasted a lot like beer. I scaled the recipe all the way to 7 servings to try out the taste only. I used whipped cream cheese, because it was all I had. I did use a darker beer, that has a stronger taste, but the recipe didn't specify. Once I let it sit in the fridge for 24 hours, and then dipped pretzels in it, the flavors blended together well. The beer just enhanced the cheese flavors instead of dominating it. It does go great with pretzels. However, I would definitely make it the night before so the cheese has time to absorb the beer and blend right. It will also be much thicker by then and the right consistency for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is MUCH better if you substitute 8oz of sour cream for one of the packages of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delish! Made the whole thing in the processor - took about 5 minutes. I didn't use any seasoned salt, and I'm not a fan of cayenne, but I did want a little "kick," so I added a healthy dose of horseradish. I used a little more than 1/2 cup of Terminal Gravity IPA, and it was good straight out of the processor workbowl. I got some Snyder's giant pretzel rods as a go-with...can't wait to taste it after it's had a chance to meld. Thanks for a keeper! 10/8/11 - 24 hours later. I'm not going to change the rating, but I will do a couple of things differently next time. First, I was surprised by how thick it was, so that means I'll add more beer. Second, I couldn't really taste the horseradish at all, so I'll be adding more of that, too. It was very good, but just a wee bit too "ranchy." I took it to a party in the bread bowl, and got lots of compliments...nice about not having to worry about taking the bowl home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I haven't tried this particular recipe yet, but have been making a variation for year. Only difference is no salt or pepper, but two chopped green onions mixed in. Everyone loves this dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is always my go to appetizer for work functions, parties, and snacks at the house. Only thing different I do is add garlic powder instead of the salt/cayenne. I always get request for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I make this for parties or get togethers. I put in 1/2 of a 12 oz. beer or a little more. I don't use salt or cayenne pepper. I also add 1/4 cup of chopped green onions. It always gets devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I loved this! I probably added more than 1/2 cup of beer. I will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I could eat the whole bowl of this. It is my favorite snack to make since it is super easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States