Beer Cheese Philly Steak Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow, this was good...a little rich, but good! I don't have beer, so I used beef broth laced with a little red wine vinegar for a little tang. Other than that, no changes. I only gave four stars because the bread was a little weird. Maybe next time I will toast it or something. I know a cheesesteak doesn't have toasted bread, but it's also not swimming in cheese sauce. It made the bread a little doughy. Leftovers this morning are not quite as good as the dish was for dinner last night, so I would recommend trying to consume it all in one fell swoop. A great recipe, though. Definitely worth trying and possibly making again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I added some fresh mushrooms and garlic to the recipe. It turned out great. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Super yum! BAsed on what others said, I used 1 box Stove Top stuffing on the bottom by soaking the bread stuff and forming into a thin crust. I then put it under the broiler for 2 minutes to firm & crisp. No beer either, used drippings from the beef and beef broth, as suggested also. Due to the Stuffing, I lessened all spices, especially salt. I know I tweeked it a bit, but this recipe is AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was between 3 and 4 stars for me. I think it's a great recipe, but I didn't expect it to taste so much like beer. I think if I make this again, I'd maybe use beef boullion or cook some of the alcohol out of the beer. It was just too overpowering for me since I wanted to taste Philly cheese steak, not beer. But, in general I think it's a great idea for a casserole and everything else about it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I rated this recipe based on the confidence that it would be wonderful if made as written. I made it with frozen Philly steaks, which I'm sure affected the quality slightly. (Next time I would cook the steaks as directed on the package, in a skillet, instead of heating them along with the spices and broth.)Not having beer, I used beef broth and a little balsamic vinegar. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because my hubby thought the bread on the bottom was too soggy, but our preferences differ on this point. The cheese on top gave it a great texture to balance the soggy bread, in my opinion. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This has a really nice flavor and I liked it better reheated. I think this would be a good recipe to make the night before, so all the flavors can blend before baking. There is a strong beer flavor to it, so I recommend using half the beer and drinking the other half while you cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilydonovan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
What a great idea! the sauce is so good. I used red, yellow, and orange peppers instead of green. I also only used monterey and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
We didn't like it at all. Don't know if I fixed it wrong, probably did. Didn't like the consistency of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
this was so incredibly good! i made it with two minor alterations: i would recommend spraying the bread cubes with pam and sprinkling garlic on it beforehand. and i wouldn't use as much beer, but try to balance it out with beef broth! other than that it was AMAZING! thank you for putting this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good! I made it for Father's Day ahead of time. I think everyone will enjoy it. I had a lot of round steak which is pretty tough. So I simmered the heck out of it till it was tender. Also, I just mixed all the spices and liquids (except milk) together to simmer with the beef. I threw the onions and peppers in at the end. I sub'd a little bacon fat for the butter since I had some from another recipe...not low fat but tastes great! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States