Beer Cheese Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great dip recipe! I cut it in half and instead of shredded cheddar cheese I used Velveeta which gave it a smooth creamy taste. All you have to do is pop it in the microwave and stir it occasionally. I also tossed in a bit of grated Parmesan for a little flair. This stuff is oh so good. I served it with "Easy Beer Bread Mix" from this site - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I love this recipe!!! I have made it on many occasions with a few alterations, and people devour it! I am always asked for the recipe, and people beg me to make it for parties. I usually add more beer and garlic, and since this thins the consistency, I'll throw in a handful of shredded Romano cheese to thicken it back up. Blue cheese is also a great add-in for a twist on the taste. IF you have any leftovers (if I don't use a bread bowl I can sometimes scrape some up), try adding a couple of spoonfuls to mashed potatoes for a new side dish. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Although I'm sure this makes for a great appetizer, this went great with our chili dinner!! I used a loaf of french bread (buttered and broiled for a few min to make "crusty" bread). Also, I could tell this was going to make ALOT so I reduced the cream cheese to (1) 8oz pkg, used 8oz velveeta instead of cheddar (keeping it creamy) and no garlic powder. If you melt in the microwave and stir every minute until heated through and melted, it turns out great and clean-up is minimal (and you can dip RIGHT from the bowl). Also prevents burning or any other possible disasters. I still have a little leftover, so I guess I'll have to get more bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was wonderful! I took this to a party, and there were absolutely none leftover! I made a couple of changes to it though. I added quite a bit more garlic and some Italian seasoning, and instead of just mixing it all together, I melted it all together. Everyone loved it, and I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe was very easy. I just dumped all the ingredients in my food processor and "pulsed" until it was the right consistancy. I added quite a bit more garlic than what was called for and a dash of "Italian seasoning" - it turned out fantastic. I also used a "beer bread" recipe from Allrecipes submitted by Jodi Regan for my serving loaf--easy! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very easy to make!! Didn't have enough kick, so I added a generous amount of cayenne pepper along with some Texas Pete. Made it excellent!! To make a little creamier, add extra beer after taking out of the fridge and before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is delicious!! I followed other reviewers' suggestions, and added green onion and italian seasonings. I LOVED the taste, but didn't like the consistency. (Too stiff for a bread bowl, and the cheddar cheese made it too lumpy. GREAT as a dip for pretzels, though!!) So - again - I followed another reviewer's suggestion to melt the ingredients. PERFECT! I put it in a cheddar/garlic bread bowl, and it got rave reviews. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
We threw away the whole thing. This recipe will be forever banned in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I've been making this for years but I add 1 pkg. ranch dressing mix and 3 chopped scallions/green onions. It's best if it stands overnight and is really good with big sourdough pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I really liked this recipe...but my husband said it was only good...hence the 4 star rating. I am an avid garlic lover, but my husband said that there was just too much of a garlic taste. I tried a second time and took another reviewer's advice and used velvetta instead of cheddar...turned out much better. I will make again...but will have to reduce the garlic a bit. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States