Beer Cheese Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very easy to make!! Didn't have enough kick, so I added a generous amount of cayenne pepper along with some Texas Pete. Made it excellent!! To make a little creamier, add extra beer after taking out of the fridge and before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Good base, but really needed more seasoning. Be careful what type of beer you use, also. Bitter beer wouldn't do well. I added more garlic powder, plus some onion powder. It was not bad, but I'll keep working on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Dip was not what I expected. Dip tasted completely of cream cheese was visually un-appealing. Agree with other reviwers that modified this could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I had my first dinner party at my new place, and most of my friends have very different tastes in foods. This was a big hit with everyone and really got everyone together and got them talking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I love this recipe!!! I have made it on many occasions with a few alterations, and people devour it! I am always asked for the recipe, and people beg me to make it for parties. I usually add more beer and garlic, and since this thins the consistency, I'll throw in a handful of shredded Romano cheese to thicken it back up. Blue cheese is also a great add-in for a twist on the taste. IF you have any leftovers (if I don't use a bread bowl I can sometimes scrape some up), try adding a couple of spoonfuls to mashed potatoes for a new side dish. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I followed the suggestions about using velveeta, adding green onions, and microwaving. Took to a party with onion bagel pieces. No one said anything, but it was all gone and it wasn't that big of a party. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was pretty good. I replaced 1/2 of the cheddar (used sharp cheddar) with Velveeta and added some green chili peppers for the heck of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This was a big hit at my 4th of July annual barbecue. Everyone asked for the recipe. I did follow the suggestion of another reviewer, and I melted the ingredients in the microwave. I melted them on high power, stirring after one minute, until it reached the desired consistency. Be careful not to overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I really liked this recipe...but my husband said it was only good...hence the 4 star rating. I am an avid garlic lover, but my husband said that there was just too much of a garlic taste. I tried a second time and took another reviewer's advice and used velvetta instead of cheddar...turned out much better. I will make again...but will have to reduce the garlic a bit. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I did mine a little different.....omitted the cream cheese and did the rest of the ingredients in the microwave. I've also tried it using a double boiler (a little more work). Yummy. Tastes just like an appetizer from my favorite "fondue" restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States