Beer Cheese Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Awesome! My party guests went wild for it. I wasn't sure what "processed" cheese meant so I used velveeta. I also used a good ale. Let the cheeses soften and process. Slowly add beer until the consistency you want. I liked mine being a little fluid because I made pretzel bites for dipping. I made it a few days before the party and then dumped it in a mini crock to warm it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was sooo good! I used my food processor to blend all of the ingredients together, it made for a very smooth and creamy dip. I also only used half of the beer called for because I tasted it and it seemed kind of strong. After it sat in the fridge for 2 hours though, the flavor mellowed out and made for a really nice dip! I served with crunchy pretzels, but I bet this spread on warm soft pretzel would be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
delicious. threw all the ingredients in the fondue pot-very little effort with a lot of great taste! used pillsbury breadsticks and cooked them in small pieces, perfect for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Floyds Knobs, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I loved this dip, but made it a little bit differently. My grocery store didn't have velveeta (I guess they're too good for huge hunks of processed cheese!) so instead, we bought 8 oz of Cabot hot habanero cheddar. I cut it into several cubes, and melted it in the toaster oven for a few minutes, then just put the 8 oz cream cheese right on top for a couple more minutes, probably about 10 minutes total. I stirred them together, which takes a few minutes because it is still chunky but I didn't want to burn the cheese. Once it got a little smoother I poured in beer (a red ale) just a little at a time, probably about 1/4 bottle, to get the right texture. It was amazing! I was worried that using the unprocessed cheddar would make it too oily or otherwise a bad texture, but it was perfect, even when reheated in the microwave the next day. We ate this with Mall Pretzels from this website - perfect combo. The Cabot habanero cheese was very spicy - just a warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Loved it. i used The Doppelrock from Great Lakes Brewing Company and I swear that beer was made for this recipe. I also added a few other seasonings including Slap ya Mama to give a little heat. People went crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
everyone at the party wanted the recipe. very easy to make, and once they start snacking on it, they can't stop. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is a hit at every party. I use a can of the Woody's extra sharp cheddar spread and garlic powder. I also recommend microwaving the Woody's and cream cheese to make it a little easier to mix together. Perfect for a football party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
The overall taste of the ingredients was very good. I followed the recipe, but it turned out to be very thin. Although it was messy, everyone like the taste of it. (Next time, I will add the "wet ingredient" slowly, mix until I get the right consistency, and then drink the rest!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS DIP...IT'S EXCELLENT WITH PAMPERED CHEF'S BEER BREAD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My mother used to make one similiar to this. Use Wise Spread cheese instead. Sautee the garlic. and start with 1/4 cup beer. Keep adding until you get the consistency and taste that you want. That way it won't be to messy or runny at all. Also when we make it we put it in a round pumpernickle loaf. We hollow it out, fill it with the dip and put the top back on. You can tear off pieces of the loaf and dip it or you can cut up some italian bread. While also using the inside of the loaf that you took out as well for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jdunnican

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States