Beer Cheese Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Some may enjoy the processed cheese flavor in these, but I do not. Just a matter of preference and we all have them :) Anyway, this is a great recipe if you use a high quality cheddar cheese spread, one with real cheese and limited added ingredients. Or use a chunk of sharp cheddar you shred your self (pre-shred has a powder on it to prevent sticking together & this can cause it to be gloppy when melted, not smooth). If using cheddar you will need to heat the cream cheese and cheddar together to melt and become smooth. Cool before adding beer. Add only 1/4 cup beer to start to control consistency. You can always add more if need be. This dip is better if chilled overnight to allow flavors to mellow and develop. Great served cold or warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was ok just not suited to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was sooo good! I used my food processor to blend all of the ingredients together, it made for a very smooth and creamy dip. I also only used half of the beer called for because I tasted it and it seemed kind of strong. After it sat in the fridge for 2 hours though, the flavor mellowed out and made for a really nice dip! I served with crunchy pretzels, but I bet this spread on warm soft pretzel would be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Loved it. i used The Doppelrock from Great Lakes Brewing Company and I swear that beer was made for this recipe. I also added a few other seasonings including Slap ya Mama to give a little heat. People went crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
delicious. threw all the ingredients in the fondue pot-very little effort with a lot of great taste! used pillsbury breadsticks and cooked them in small pieces, perfect for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This recipe gets 4 stars only because of the changes I've made. Rather than processed cheese (yuck!) I used shredded extra sharp cheese. I have made this twice now and used Guinness as the beer. It was a huge hit both times and is now known as my Stout Cheddar Pretzel dip as I use it with my homemade hot buttered pretzels. Hope these modifications help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Stowe, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Great flavor in this dip! I used fat free cream cheese and 2% skim velveeta and used a half cup beer(oops, misread the recipe). I also used the crushed garlic that comes in the jar. I tried to mix it with beaters, but realized very quickly it would not mix that way (I'm sure partially due to the reduced fat and not softening the cheeses long enough) so I put the ingredients in bowl over boiling water and covered it, stirring occasionally until smooth. It worked like a dream. Ate this one with homemade pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Tasty, but a little bland. It was extremely thick, but I put the bowl in the microwave and heated it, and it was SOOO much better! I will definitely keep this hot next time. And add some hot sauce or worchestershire sauce like other recipes called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Awesome! My party guests went wild for it. I wasn't sure what "processed" cheese meant so I used velveeta. I also used a good ale. Let the cheeses soften and process. Slowly add beer until the consistency you want. I liked mine being a little fluid because I made pretzel bites for dipping. I made it a few days before the party and then dumped it in a mini crock to warm it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I loved this dip, but made it a little bit differently. My grocery store didn't have velveeta (I guess they're too good for huge hunks of processed cheese!) so instead, we bought 8 oz of Cabot hot habanero cheddar. I cut it into several cubes, and melted it in the toaster oven for a few minutes, then just put the 8 oz cream cheese right on top for a couple more minutes, probably about 10 minutes total. I stirred them together, which takes a few minutes because it is still chunky but I didn't want to burn the cheese. Once it got a little smoother I poured in beer (a red ale) just a little at a time, probably about 1/4 bottle, to get the right texture. It was amazing! I was worried that using the unprocessed cheddar would make it too oily or otherwise a bad texture, but it was perfect, even when reheated in the microwave the next day. We ate this with Mall Pretzels from this website - perfect combo. The Cabot habanero cheese was very spicy - just a warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States