Beer Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was just ok. It nearly overflowed the pan and the flavors of cake and beer, delish as they both are, just don't go together for me. The beer did make it very light and fluffy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Loved it! Next time I'd double the amount of cherries though .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
A surprisingly mature chocolate cake. It was very popular when I served it to guests. :) I did tweak the recipe a little bit. I replaced cherries with a frozen assortment of berries, and also added dark chocolate chunks into the cake. I found the 2 squares of chocolate too little for my taste, and added another two. I also used three cups of confectioner's sugar instead of four, and found the frosting perfect. All in all, a great recipe. Would definitely use again--and experiment with various other kinds of beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I used milk chocolate, regular milk, and black cherries, and omitted the walnuts (Because that's what I had on hand). I also made them into cupcakes. The tops were a little over-done even at 45 minutes, so I would suggest checking them at 30-40 minutes. The flavors of the beer and cherry juice mixed very well, and the rest of the cake was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I used Sam Adams-Cherry Wheat beer since the recipe called for cherries, and it came out deliciously moist! I also used a cream cheese icing instead of the icing pvodied that worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Totally delicious and not too sweet! What kind of beer you use makes a difference here (guiness is prob the best choice) - I used a belgian-style white beer because it was what i had on hand, and it ended up with a lingering alcohol taste (not in a good way). So instead of fighting it, I went with it! Just before icing, I brushed on about 1/4c of SoCo and a bit of homemade apricot liqueur. It was DELICIOUS! I'm sure any liquer would work... Grand Marnier, perhaps? Substituted a Cream cheese icing also - Cream together 1 pkg Neufchatel or Cream Cheese & 1/2 stick butter, then mix in 1 to 1.5 cups confectioner's sugar (depending on your sweet tooth) and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. This was a big birthday hit :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a WINNER! It is absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
FANTASTIC Its a great "grown up" chokolate cake. Not to sweet. I could not get any cherrys so I bought jared cherrys, I dont think it made it any worse ! Will make again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
The ingredients alone seem a bit suspect... even as you are making the batter!! How they marry to compliment one another in the end result is absolutely wonderful!!! Not too sweet, very moist and great with or without the frosting. I didn't have cherry juice so I used raspberry syrup mixed with water and eleminated the actual cherries altogether..... I'd doubled the recipe and everyone truly enjoyed it. Three have asked for the recipe and I've been asked to bake another for a birthday just three days after I'd baked the first one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
made this for some friends and they said they liked, especially after they found out there was beer in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States