Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe is a hit! I took Golden Beer (very mild German Beer) and it was fantasticly fluffy! I made muffins in the microwave for 1 1/2 mins. at 850 watts and it turned out wonderful. The main batter was in the oven and similar tasteful but not that quick ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this for my son's 20th Birthday! It was a big hit and he is not a real cake fan! I used Yuengling beer & a cream cheese frosting also on this site drizzeled on top. It would be good without any frosting. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I love this recipe, so yummy & easy. I took this cake to work for a tailgate party (what’s a tailgate party without beer,lol) and it was gobbled up. I used butterscotch pudding that I had on hand and took REGINA73 suggestion of making the glaze, 1 1/3 cups sugar, rest of beer & 2 tbs butter then boil, when cake came out of oven let rest about 5 min then poked holes and poured glaze over cake, let it sit in pan for about 15 min, then turned it out, let it cool and drizzled a glaze (powered sugar and milk) over the cake, very moist & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vavseba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is sooo versatile! I made it with pumpkin spice pudding and cranberry lambic beer, both of which are in season right now in New Hampshire. I also tossed in a cup of chopped frozen cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made 2 of these using 2 kinds of beer and served them at a party for 20 people last week. One was a spice cake with regular American beer and the other was chocolate cake with a stout beer. There was not a crumb left and I was asked a dozen times for the recipe. At least 4 people told me they really don't enjoy cake much but this changed their mind. Guess us country folk enjoy this type of cake more then some others do. But I know I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is better (my personal opinion) with devils food cake, dark chocolate pudding and guinness extra stout. That bumps it up to 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making cake this way for a few years, except I add a can of ginger ale. You can use ginger ale for any flavor cake..carrot, white, chocolate...and it it crazy moist. Almost like a torte. Also add a scoop or two of sour cream to the batter, makes the cake so rich. Note: you will have to increase the baking time if you add an entire can of soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really wanted this to be great. I followed the recipe exactly and no one liked it. It was pretty dry and plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Wonderful cake. Very easy and moist. Will definitely make again. My kids loved it. Made Cake again 2/7/12 - Changed a few things. Added 2 Tablespoons sour cream and about 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Used a Yuengling Lager..Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Dye Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My kids and husband liked it, but I didn't. I followed the recipe exactly. If I do make it again, I will need to make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States