Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is really nice! Wanted something a bit different and this was! I finished the cake with a beer and lime glaze (as per the most helpful positive review, I just added lime juice) and I just made the cake with the mix, beer, four eggs and oil. I didn't have vanilla pudding mix and it didn't affect it at all. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This cake is very easy to make and is exceedingly moist, but guess what you can taste/smell the beer. I used french vanilla cake mix, vanilla pudding, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, 2 tsp of vanilla extract, and I covered the cake in confectioner's glaze and I could still taste the beer. (This isn't necessarily a bad thing but it is evident)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Wow! this cake rocked!I will be making it again and again. I tried the glaze like others had suggested, um..... no thanks. I instead made a beer buttercream. A little on the runny side, but it took the cake over the top. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Used a stout beer because we really like the beer flavor. Cake was nice and light and flavorful. Used a whipped cream and powdered sugar frosting and sprinkled it with crunch up pretzels. Yuuummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Excellent. I only had a 1.5oz. box of vanilla pudding, but it still turned out beautifully! I topped it with caramel icecream topping, toffee, and a bit of homemade streusel. Delicious. I shall make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Made this for a block party. i used a Butter yellow cake mix, French Vanilla pudding and Woodchuck Amber beer (nice subtle apple taste!) Got great reviews from everyone! Made a glaze as suggested by others, with about 1/2 cup of the beer and some butter and powdered sugar and let it soak into the cake...then sprinkled w a little powdered sugar when i served it. Tasted great! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this recipe using chocolate cake mix and New Belgium Ranger IPA. It was so good. You can really taste the IPA at the end of every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was an okay cake. It didn't taste like beer, which was good, but it did taste a little odd. I don't think I would make it again. It was moist but had a slightly odd texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Like another member suggested, made it with devils food, chocolate pudding and Guiness Draught - it. was. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This cake is yummy, though like other reviewers I found it tastes just like a very nice basic yellow cake. Even though I used a dark beer (Shiner Black) and even added some cinnamon the flavor just didn't come through. I will make this again, though I'll try with a Guinness, a coffee porter, or a chocolate stout to see if using a heavier and more flavorful beer will help. I may also try making a glaze or frosting of some sort for the cake using the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States