Beer Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Following other's advice, I seared the brisket, used an ale instead of regular beer and cut the pepper back - way back. I used a heaping teaspoon of freshly ground pepper and you could definitely taste it in the finished gravy. Any more and I think it would've killed the dish. After making this, I've come to realize that there's no comparing a slow-cooker brisket to an oven-braised brisket. The oven makes it tastes that much better. Served this with the German Potato Pancakes recipe, and the German Red Cabbage recipe, both from this site. Very good. Also, mine cooked in about 3 1/2 hrs., but I trimmed close to 1/2 lb of fat from my 4 lb. brisket. This is my new favorite brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Definate keeper if you like moist brisket. I have never had a brisket turn out so well! I didn't have a bay leaf, but threw everthing else on the list (EXCEPT used 2 tsp of pepper instead of 2 tbls) in a bowl and mixed well. I also seared the brisket on the stove top real quick then put in a slow cooker/crock pot, covered with the beer mixture, and cooked on low for about 10 hours. WOW. Want an extra treat? Mix 1/2 cup of whipped cream cheese with 1 Tablespoon prepared horseradish to serve along side the brisket. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Awesome flavor! Instead of a pan, I cooked it in a crock pot for about 8 hours. Best brisket I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was the best brisket I've ever made. I was unsure about trimming the fat completely, but I followed the receipe exactly as written with two exceptions. I seered the brisket in a skillet sprayed lightly with Pam on the stove (med high to high heat) until light brown and I lightly sprayed the bottom of my baking dish with Pam before putting the brisket in just to make clean up easier. I also followed one other reviewer's suggestion and used ale beer (not sure if regular beer versus ale beer mades a difference or not)but I assure you the brisket was moist, tender and absolutely wonderful. I will definately use this receipe every time but do recommend that you seer any type of roast prior to baking - it just helps seal in the flavor and moisture of the meat. I had very little left overs but the next day I chopped that up and added Head Country (brand) BBQ sauce and served on buns. Those were fab too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Terrible. Very bland, made a mess out of my pan, had to throw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by templina71
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I tried this recipe twice and both times I finished with the most tender brisket I have ever had. I also learned that the type of beer you use effects the outcome. I preferred malt beer. I think that others who did not like this recipe do not understand that this recipe is supposed to enhance the taste of the meat, not cover it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Excellent! I did cut back on pepper but other than that it was made as directed. Doubled sauce. It was different than standard gravy but very good. Used toohpics to kep onions on top of meat. Meat was very tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was by far the best meat I have ever made!!! I cooked it in a crockpot for 7 hours on the low setting. I used Guinness as the beer! FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Fabulous!! This has become a regular favorite at our table. It gets rave reviews by everyone, from my extremely picky 7-year-old, to my 80+ grandmom (in the middle of chemo - has trouble tasting stuff and doesn't like much). Flavorful and tender. It's quite peppery if you use the full amount of fresh coarsely ground black pepper - I adjust this to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
It was pretty good. It Was Missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States