Beer Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great brisket. Fork tender. Only took 3 1/2 hrs. I only used 1/2 the pepper and doubled the brown sugar. I added a teaspoon of instant coffee(grounds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Following other's advice, I seared the brisket, used an ale instead of regular beer and cut the pepper back - way back. I used a heaping teaspoon of freshly ground pepper and you could definitely taste it in the finished gravy. Any more and I think it would've killed the dish. After making this, I've come to realize that there's no comparing a slow-cooker brisket to an oven-braised brisket. The oven makes it tastes that much better. Served this with the German Potato Pancakes recipe, and the German Red Cabbage recipe, both from this site. Very good. Also, mine cooked in about 3 1/2 hrs., but I trimmed close to 1/2 lb of fat from my 4 lb. brisket. This is my new favorite brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
VERY GOOD recipe. Instead of a pan, I cooked it in pressure cooker for about 1 hour and 20 min. I did only added 1 tsp of pepper like people suggested. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Meat very tender; however, must baste meat often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
VERY GOOD recipe. I seared the meat and put it in the crockpot like someone suggested. After 8 hours it just fell apart! I pulled it apart so it could soak up the juices, the last 30 minutes of cooking. I did only added 1 tsp of pepper like people suggested. I can't imagine having any more than that. I used a harp lager because that is what I had. We'll make sloppy joes with the leftovers for sure. Next time I might add some sourcream. I think it would be great that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this brisket is awesome with one caveat!!!!! My husband likes his food hot and spicy, but even I know that 2 tblspns. of pepper is ridiculous and way out of line. I used 1 tspn. of pepper and it had just the right zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by majestichawaii
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
cooked with hawaiian free range beef, exellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by majestichawaii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waimea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was the best brisket I have ever made. Moist and tender, not dry at all. Delicious, even the youngest ones enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was O.K. The three star rating is because two tablespoons of pepper is crazy. I put in two teaspoons and it was still VERY peppery. I messed up and added the starch into the beer mixture. No problem, though. I just let it sit until the starch settled to the bottom and poured off the liquid, reserving the starch sediment for thickening after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Definate keeper if you like moist brisket. I have never had a brisket turn out so well! I didn't have a bay leaf, but threw everthing else on the list (EXCEPT used 2 tsp of pepper instead of 2 tbls) in a bowl and mixed well. I also seared the brisket on the stove top real quick then put in a slow cooker/crock pot, covered with the beer mixture, and cooked on low for about 10 hours. WOW. Want an extra treat? Mix 1/2 cup of whipped cream cheese with 1 Tablespoon prepared horseradish to serve along side the brisket. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States