Beer Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a perfect forgiving recipe for beginners wanting a little variation on basic bread. Like craft beer?... Try it. Hotter? ...jalapeños. Fancy cheeses? Subisutute it! Make chicken noodle soup for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I personally did not care for this. I used Killian's Irish Red for the beer, and sharp cheddar. The flavor was good, but it was very dense and didn't seem to rise at all to me. Also, the butter overflowed and started a fire in my oven. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I'm having a hard time rating this one. It was very dense, which I didn't like but it sliced well because of it, which I did like. The amount of sugar didn't play well with the cheese and green chiles either. Not a re-do for me but that's not to say it won't appeal to others. Thanks for sharing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yes, I made changes, but only because I didn't have all the ingredients on hand the first time I made it. I did not add any flavoring in with the dough. No green chilies or shredded cheese. Instead I made it plain. And it was awesome that way. I also added some milk to the dough bc it did not seem moist enough after adding one can of beer. I used only 3 Tbs of butter for the wash and it was plenty and delicious. The first time I made this bread I ate it with honey or just plain butter or margarine. It was so good that it didn't seem to need anything else. The second time I made a green chili cream cheese dip with it. This bread and dip will be my new contribution to football pot luck meals. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
We make this recipe literally every day. We substituted jalapeno for the green chilis, increased the cheddar cheese to 1c. and add a teaspoon each of garlic powder and onion powder. We have made it in loaves, mini loaves and drop biscuits and they all come out fabulous. People rave about it. And it's so easy, my BF knows the recipe by heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made my own self rising flour and I increased the cheddar cheese to a full cup. I made no other changes. This turned out fantastically. I have to admit that I was worried about the bread turning out badly because it seemed to be floating in butter but as it was baking, it soaked up the butter and made this wonderful crust. It's VERY good. Not something I'd make every day but a wonderful occasional decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I got this recipe years ago from a good friend, but I couldn't find it. Thank goodness I have Allrecipes to help me out! We love ths bread,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is delicious! And it's honestly one of the easiest things I've ever made. Almost dangerously easy, I could have a fresh delicious loaf of bread every single day with no effort! The hardest part was cutting up cheese (I used little cubes instead of shredded). I made my own self-rising flour, with three cups of all-purpose flour, 4 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp of salt. For the beer I used a bottle of Moosehead lager and it was great. Very pleasant taste with just a hint of "beery-ness" here and there. I was too lazy to melt the butter to brush on top, so I just sprayed the top of the bread with butter-flavoured Pam, though if I were to use butter, I would use way less than 6 tbsp. I skipped the chiles because I just didn't want them. I will for sure make this again (maybe tonight....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I’ve made many beer breads over the past several years, but I don’t recall making one with cheese in it, so I thought I’d give this a try. I made my own self-rising flour (to a one cup measure, add 1 1/2 t. baking powder and 1/2 t. salt; then fill with flour and level off = 1 cup self-rising flour). I didn’t have the green chile peppers on hand so I had to leave them out. And I cut the butter down to 4 T., which was plenty. My loaf was beautifully golden and tested done in 55 minutes. This was very good, and I would make it again, but I think it definitely needs more cheese. I think I will try doubling it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was really good. I used Splenda and Heineken. Unlike another reviewer, I couldn't even taste the beer in mine. I used 1 cup of cheese and a 4 ounce can of green chiles. To avoid a buttery mess on the bottom of my oven I brushed the top of the loaf with 3 tablespoons of melted butter halfway through baking. This went great with Spicy Chicken Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States