Beer Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was really good. I used Splenda and Heineken. Unlike another reviewer, I couldn't even taste the beer in mine. I used 1 cup of cheese and a 4 ounce can of green chiles. To avoid a buttery mess on the bottom of my oven I brushed the top of the loaf with 3 tablespoons of melted butter halfway through baking. This went great with Spicy Chicken Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Use your biggest bread pan! I used a medium one and the butter flowed over onto the bottom of the oven and will cause a lot of smoke! Bread was great! Added garlic powder to make it go with an italian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
It's a little on the salty side. But that might be the beer that I use. I also use jalapenos instead of green chiles. Overall a really good quick bread that's easy to memorize so it's easy to write down copies when friends ask, (and they will).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Lampley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Just finished making this beer bread and found it to be delightful! It rose wonderfully and I love the flavor that the green chilies add to it. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlie Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I omitted the chilies and cheese. I made 8 muffins and put the rest of the batter into a loaf. It only took about 30 minutes to bake this way. I used Trouble Brewing Amber Ale. I thought the butter was excessive, but I used it all anyways. I used a brush to slather it over the muffins and the loaf and I did it in 2 batches to allow optimal butter absorption. =] By doing it this way, I avoided a grease puddle under my bread. The muffins did not bake to look like a muffin, they just look like little rocks, but inside are soft. I would recommend using foil muffin wrappers if you choose to make muffins. I used paper and they got just a little stuck to the bottom of the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUBlonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Fantastic! And very quick, my family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The bread has a nice, moist texture, and I liked the flavor of the green chilies. However, the chilies didn't contribute much flavor, and I even doubled them. The cheese's flavor was also indiscernible. The bread was quite bland and actually didn't taste much like beer; it could've used at least 1/2 tsp. salt in the batter. But the biggest problem I had was that I ignored my instinct to use only 3 tbsp. butter; I used the full 6 tbsp., and sure enough, half of the butter overflowed out of the pan and ended up on the bottom of my oven. What remained of the butter seeped through the top, side, and bottom crusts to form an oily ring around the outside of the bread. Probably won't be making this again, at least not without significant tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This is really good. After reading JJsMAMA's review saying next time she would add more peppers I decided to add an entire 4oz can. Besides that I followed the recipe exactly as written. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I followed the recipe to a "T" and it came out perfect! I didn't even taste the chilis in it at all so I may add some more to it next time, but it's perfect as is. Will definitely make again. yummm, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fantastic. I used a can of Bud. I let it sit for a half hour. OK so I made this again with Heineken and I could not eat it. The reason I used the Heineken is because I hate the skunky taste of it and I thought “well I don’t want to drink it” so I thought the skunky-ness would cook out of the bread and it didn’t. USE A BEER YOU LIKE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States