Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Like Margaux below, I discovered by accident that the texture of the bread is better if I let the dough (or, more accurately, batter) sit before baking. I don't bother kneading since this falls into the category of a "quick bread", really. One can tweak with additions of shredded sharp cheddar and jalapenos and bake as muffins (adjust baking time accordingly) as a wonderful accompaniment to chili. Just fold in those extra ingredients after mixing the batter. Oh, must comment. This beer bread will make your kitchen smell heavenly while it's baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I rubbed butter on the top of mine after it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Since this bread is so dense, I added a little baking powder, salt, and extra beer; made 2 mini loaves(8x4) and let them sit for 30 minutes before baking. I poured melted butter over the tops bofore putting them in the oven, half way through, and again after removing from the oven. Baked at 350 for exactly 45 minutes! Turned out Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I've made this recipe many times. I've found it to be a great foundation for lots of variations. I don't usually keep self rising flour around so I mix my own. I add 1 cup of whole oats that have been soaked in 1/2 cup of buttermilk. I also add 1 more Tbsp of sugar. I made a loaf today with Mike's Raspberry Lemonade instead of beer. It made a very pretty, slightly pinkish loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I’ve been using a similar beer bread recipe for a number of years. My recipe calls for 4 T. of sugar and bakes at 375 degrees. I’ve always used a lite beer, but this time I used Yeungling Lager beer and only used the 3 T. of sugar. Well, I now know that the kind of beer you use definitely makes a difference. The beer flavor was much more pronounced using the stronger flavored lager beer. I think I prefer it with lite beer. I followed the recipe and baked this at 350 for about one hour and it didn’t brown as well as baking at the slightly higher temp. I know I’ll be making this again but definitely with lite beer and a 375 degree oven. I’m still undecided about the sugar, 3 T. or 4???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Really easy and very good! I was trying to use up some non-alcoholic beer and it worked out just fine. I increased the sugar as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is my go-to bread...ALWAYS easy and ALWAYS good!!! If I have self-rising flour I use it, but if not I follow the other recommendations for 1 tsp salt and 1 Tbsp baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
We LOVE making this recipe. Here are my tips: I agree with using 1/3 cup sugar. The beer you choose makes a difference! I have tried the recipe with dark beers and light ones. In my opinion the bread with dark beer tastes much better. When I make it with Guinness it comes out brownish, very moist and smelling strongly of beer (this flavor is not for everyone). But when I made it with Heineken and Corona it came out light-colored, not as moist and did not have much of a smell. I sometimes divide the batter among smaller loaf tins or pans so I can get 4 small loaves out of it. I think it looks nicer as a small loaf and it helps with portion control (because once you cut into the loaf you will eat every last crumb of it!) Lastly, I bake mine for about 40 min max. My oven is new so that may have something to do with it. Good luck with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This bread is awesome! I followed the recipe except I added 1 cup Mexican Blend Shredded Cheese to the flour mixture before adding the beer and then let it raise for about 30 minutes while I was preheating the oven. I took the advice of another reviewer and brushed the top of the bread (1/2 way through and once again after baking) with melted butter and sprinkled with garlic salt. Also, I didn't have self-rising flour, so I used 3 cups all-purpose flour minus 2 Tablespoons then added 4 1/2 teaspoons Baking Powder & 1 1/2 teaspoons Salt. BEST BEER BREAD EVER! Just a note - the first time I made this, I took another reviewer's suggestion and added 1/3 cup sugar, but I found it was way too sweet for my taste... if you're a fan of sweeter breads like Hawaiian bread, then you'd probably like the 1/3 cup of sugar, but if you're not looking for something quite so sweet, definitely stick with the 3 Tablespoons listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and my family and I love it. I've since made it 4 times. I sliced it the next day and made ham, egg and cheese breakfast sandwiches and was told it was the best breakfast sandwich ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lampwick
Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States