Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I took all the recommendations to heart and added 3 tsp of gluten powder to the flour and sugar and 2 tsp of lecithin to the beer before putting them all together. The gluten to combat the crumbling effect and the lecithin so it will keep til tomorrow. I bake a few loaves of bread several times per month so I keep these supplies on hand. They really worked great in this recipe. If you don't bake regularly but you want to try these, they will keep on your shelf. Wrap the gluten tightly in plastic; remove the label from the box & stick it into the bag. Lecithin is a natural ingredient that has the viscosity of molasses so I heat the jar in a bowl of hot water then pour what I need into a spoon. One jar will keep for many ages so don't worry about a shelf life on it. This is a recipe I will keep for when I want a quick bread and don't want to bake more than 1 loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have also used this recipe for years now as it is a South African favourite. You can literally add anything to the mix; cheese, various herbs, sweetcorn, bacon bits, paprika, feta cheese, onions or even pie apples with spring onion. Be adventurous and try different flavours everytime you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is one of the easiest & best quick bread recipes. I've been making it for 30 plus years. Just mix the 3 ingredients together & bake in loaf pan. Goes well with soups & is even better if you have left overs & toast in toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was very straightforward and turned out great! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My wife used to make the Tastefully Simple beer bread for years and everyone always liked it. She wanted a less expensive, easy version so we tried this one. She increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. She replaced the self rising flour with 3 cups all purpose flour, 3 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp salt. This is a great and very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is a great base to go from when making beer bread. It's my go to bread recipe, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating. I'm not a beer drinker, I used a bottle of beer (Lagunitas) that my friend left at the house. It still had a beer taste and yet also bland at the same time. However this was really quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I just made this, after reading msny of the reviews: FANTASTIC! FLAWLESS!! The only modifacations I made, based on the reviewd i read, were to add 4 tbls sugar instead of three, and I plopped the dough into the middle of a 9x13 pan. I basted it with melted butter halfway through the 50 minutes, and again five minutes before taking it out of the oven, when i also sprinkled it with roughly grated fresh parmesan. It came out GORGEOUS, moist, perfect!! I used Hertog Jan for the beer and self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tried this with pumpkin beer... very good. I am excited to try it with other flavors too... I didn't have the self rising flour but thanks to the other ratings, I was able to substitute. PS... makes awesome but crumbly ham sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This bread was not good for me.....I loved it so much that I eat an entire loaf!! I made 2 mini loafs, baked for 50 minutes and it was perfect. My diet can't take much of this awesome bread! Thanks for the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States