Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe for nearly 40 years, long before it was available in a box. It is very good, however not a match for the popular mix. I mix it in a bowl with a wooden spoon just until it is blended, but still lumpy, then pour into a greased pan. The butter can go on when it goes in the oven or about 10 minutes before it is done. I have stirred in bread mix add-ins or sprinkled garlic herb dip mix on over the butter 10 min. before done. I keep self rising flour on hand mainly for this. Great with chili or stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
So easy!! I made this paired with hamburger helper and green bean casserole. I didn't have self-rising flour so I made my own adding salt and baking powder to all-purose flour as others had suggested. I melted 3 tbs. Blue Bonnet margarine and poured it over the top of the bread before baking. Blue Bonnet seems to me to bake as good as real butter and taste as good too in almost anything. This bread looks as good as it tastes. I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The whole family loved this simple to make bread. I especially love the crunchy crust. We also made it with whole white wheat flour and the kids still raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Have made this once and am making it again today. The family really enjoyed it and it so easy to make they will be enjoying it again and again. MariP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Easy to make! Great taste. Had a nice crisp/crunch to the top. I didn't have self-rising flour so I added salt and baking powder per guidelines I found online. Used Coors light and had a nice beer taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm so impatient when it comes to bread. This is perfect, no waiting , no kneading and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
super easy and delicious. Great with soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made this recipe with Blue Moon Mountain Abbey Ale and it was delicious! I did make one change which was to place it on a sheet pan instead and cut it along the length. I am really happy with the results and plan to make it again with Billy's Chiles beer for a jalapeno cheese variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was SUPER easy and very good. My whole family loved it. I made it with Leienkugles Orange Shandy. I would like to try it with Honey Weiss. Would be awesome paired with some Beer Cheese soup! I followed the directions as they were are baked for 35 minutes. Top was crusty and the sides were soft. The only tricky part was slicing it as the top tending to break apart when cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Been making my own yeast breads lately as I try to get away from all packaged items, but there are times that this is a bit intrusive upon a busy schedule. When I saw this, I figured it was worth a try, but I have to agree with others: when you review a recipe, do it based on the recipe as written. As written, this is GREAT. Simple as can be, flavorful, etc. I used Budweiser, as it's neither heavy nor light. (I actually had to buy beer, as we never have it in the house.) I baked it, took it out, brushed with butter (okay, I guess I diverged from the original just a little), and then took off for errands. I had it with my chicken cacciatore for dinner. Perfect. Honestly, you really don't need to change a darned thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States