Beer Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Delicious and three ingredients! 'Nuf said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Easy to do. Came out perfect for me. We paired with the Lentil Soup. Yum! Not sure why but the ingredients made a batter not dough. Spooned it into pan. Melted butter on top at 45 mins. And baked for 10 more. Will do again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just made this bread today. Like one suggested, I used all purpose flour + baking soda + salt instead of self rising flour. I only had light beer on hand, so I used that. The bread got two thumbs up from both my husband and daughter.Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I took all the recommendations to heart and added 3 tsp of gluten powder to the flour and sugar and 2 tsp of lecithin to the beer before putting them all together. The gluten to combat the crumbling effect and the lecithin so it will keep til tomorrow. I bake a few loaves of bread several times per month so I keep these supplies on hand. They really worked great in this recipe. If you don't bake regularly but you want to try these, they will keep on your shelf. Wrap the gluten tightly in plastic; remove the label from the box & stick it into the bag. Lecithin is a natural ingredient that has the viscosity of molasses so I heat the jar in a bowl of hot water then pour what I need into a spoon. One jar will keep for many ages so don't worry about a shelf life on it. This is a recipe I will keep for when I want a quick bread and don't want to bake more than 1 loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have also used this recipe for years now as it is a South African favourite. You can literally add anything to the mix; cheese, various herbs, sweetcorn, bacon bits, paprika, feta cheese, onions or even pie apples with spring onion. Be adventurous and try different flavours everytime you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is one of the easiest & best quick bread recipes. I've been making it for 30 plus years. Just mix the 3 ingredients together & bake in loaf pan. Goes well with soups & is even better if you have left overs & toast in toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was very straightforward and turned out great! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My wife used to make the Tastefully Simple beer bread for years and everyone always liked it. She wanted a less expensive, easy version so we tried this one. She increased the sugar to 1/3 cup. She replaced the self rising flour with 3 cups all purpose flour, 3 tsp baking powder, and 1 1/2 tsp salt. This is a great and very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe is a great base to go from when making beer bread. It's my go to bread recipe, period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating. I'm not a beer drinker, I used a bottle of beer (Lagunitas) that my friend left at the house. It still had a beer taste and yet also bland at the same time. However this was really quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States