Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I also fed this to big groups. I would boil the day before and put the whole pot in the fridge and grill the next day. They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Just like they make'm in Wisconsin where the Brat is King and you know it. I wouldn't bring it to a boil, though. A nice simmer so it's heated through then put it on the grill. Cold Brats or even plump Dogs are better if pre-warmed rather than burnt to death on the BBQ. They can be " scored" over the flame then set off the fire to finish in the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Okay, first of all way too much beer. You need to do this in 9x13 baking dish with the onions at the bottom, the brats over the top and about a can to can and a half of beer (you drink the other half and the other two you wasted boiling the brats) and then covered with foil. You cook until the brats are gray on the outside and then grill them. This way lthe flavor you were putting into the beer goes into the onions. And what's up with turning the brats only once? Really?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Just to clarify..you don't want to BOIL your brats, because you'll wind up with flavorless , tough brats. You want to PAR-boil your brats and just finish them off on the grill to get a nice crisp brat with beautiful grill marks. I have been preparing brats this way for many years with awesome results..and the beer-braised onions are perfection! And I only use Johnsonville brats, they are the BEST. And I consider myself a pretty good judge of brats..I'm German..who would know better? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great recipe! I have to substitute hard cider for beer. That is one of the few times when gluten free improves on the original. Applewood smoke on the grill also enhances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Instead of 4 cans of beer, I like to use a pint of Arrow Peppermint Schnappes. Minty, meaty, and magnificent. Love you recipe freak heads like me! -- Luke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy! We like it spicy and it is spicy! The perfect way to prepare brats, although I did not try the beer mixture as a topping. Get a good bun that will hold up to this manly feast. Sauerkraut, raw or grilled onions, grilled peppers and a variety of mustards complete this dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Good! I did not prick mine and they did not burst. Put them on the grill for just enough time to brown and crisp up a bit. They were juicy and tasty with onion mixture on top as condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My fiance and i went to oktober fest last month with sonera friends and had the best bratwurst ever!! So i found this recipeand we followed it and didst change a thing. But we added munster cheese and put it between the great and bratwurst. We went to panera and bought a French bagguet for the bun;) we used stellas to soak the beer in and boiled them on the grille!! Yumm. Everyone loved them! We will make them again;) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j&v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States