Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite ways to make brats--although we usually only use one beer and add water--we also use a foil pan to cook them in a foil pan as having it a little more shallow allows the onions to carmelize a bit more, and also the foil makes for quick clean up. We've never noticed a change in the flavor with more or less beer in the mix--and that way there are more beers to drink. ;o) My favorite part about this is that you don't end up with over done/burned brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckTX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Being from Wisconsin, I've used this recipe (or one very similar) for 45 years. The only way to provide perfectly browned and juicy brats for your guests. I only simmer them for ~ 20 minutes-just enough to get rid of the excess grease. This prevents not only splitting (poor presentation), but also severe mouth trauma from squirting juices on those first, dangerous bites! Grill on low or to the side with charcoal, and saute the onions for use in the bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max Cichon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
i agree with the people that don't boil the brats first. boil out all the fat if you wish but lose the fat that creates the juicy fun filled flavor. i also don't add any other spices or anything, they already have enough seasonings. grill them, simmer them with onions (not boil) put on the buns top with sauerkraut if you wish and enjoy. i'm from wisconsin, this is how most of us roll with them. i gave the low rating because of the added spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvorpahl
Home Town: Belleville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We tried this and for the effort, I would rather just buy Johnsonville Beer Brats and save the extra work. Not impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Excellent. I used regular costarican "chorizo" and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe. As a person from the brat state of Wisconsin. Do all the above except cook on the grill first than in the beer mixture. It will come out less dry & more moist and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a good recipe as is. The over the top version is to use Guinness, cover the brats in it and cook it completely away. Halfway through turn them over in the pan. This will leave a caramelized coating on the brats, try it. And do use Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have used this recipe in the past. I use a foil pan on back corner of grill on medium heat to simmer the brats. In other reviews I see that people are saying they didn't get a good beer flavor due to brand they used. I prefer Pabst Blur Ribbon. It is inexpensive and gave a GREAT beer flavor to the brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garrett Tooman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I am brat lover...grew up eating them. In my opinion the best way to preserve the flavor is NOT to par boil them. Grill slowly and then place in beer mixture and soak slowly on low heat as long as you have. Par boiling only takes what flavor and moisture that the fat provides out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Sounds good. However, one may not want to add salt because of the salt content of the brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States