Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe for a test run. I used Amstel light as that's what we had in the house. Even my brother the skeptic went for seconds so am definitely making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Love them, nice easy recipe to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Not bad, but wouldn't go out of my way to do this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Beer doesn't make saussages any different. I didn't descover any new taste with this recipe. Onion resulted really bitter after being cooked in beer. I added some sugar and caramelized it. At the end, it was OK. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIOG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I read the reveiws about a lot of folks having them come out dry boiling them first. I think the key here is the difference between "par boil" and "boil to death". Using pork sausage I do want them well done and without par boiling it is hard to do that without getting the sausage overdone on the grill. I do par boil...but just enough to partially cook and finish on the grill. I was starting with frozen sausages so I simmered them long enough to defrost before I left for work in am, tossed them in the dish in the fridge to sit for the day to stew and finished on the grill when I got home from work. Simmering them for 12 min first might be a bit more than a par boil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Lots of flavor! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite ways to make brats--although we usually only use one beer and add water--we also use a foil pan to cook them in a foil pan as having it a little more shallow allows the onions to carmelize a bit more, and also the foil makes for quick clean up. We've never noticed a change in the flavor with more or less beer in the mix--and that way there are more beers to drink. ;o) My favorite part about this is that you don't end up with over done/burned brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckTX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Being from Wisconsin, I've used this recipe (or one very similar) for 45 years. The only way to provide perfectly browned and juicy brats for your guests. I only simmer them for ~ 20 minutes-just enough to get rid of the excess grease. This prevents not only splitting (poor presentation), but also severe mouth trauma from squirting juices on those first, dangerous bites! Grill on low or to the side with charcoal, and saute the onions for use in the bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
i agree with the people that don't boil the brats first. boil out all the fat if you wish but lose the fat that creates the juicy fun filled flavor. i also don't add any other spices or anything, they already have enough seasonings. grill them, simmer them with onions (not boil) put on the buns top with sauerkraut if you wish and enjoy. i'm from wisconsin, this is how most of us roll with them. i gave the low rating because of the added spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvorpahl
Home Town: Belleville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We tried this and for the effort, I would rather just buy Johnsonville Beer Brats and save the extra work. Not impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States