Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
All I need say is, yum! Simple and easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent!! I used 3 bottles of beer for the 10 brats, 2 large onions sliced in rings, and 1 sliced bell pepper. Like others, I love it that you can cook the brats in the beer ahead of time. Then just heat them on the grill when you're ready to eat. I also cooked the onion/pepper mixture down and let them caramelize. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are excellent! I used a bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale and a can of Bud Light (it's all I had on hand) and it turned out fantastic. I served these with sauerkraut and the carmelized onions and it was sooooo tasty. They grill up so beautifully and could easily be made ahead in the beer and then grilled later. Perfect for Super Bowl parties, casual get-togethers, Oktoberfests, etc. A keeper! Update: my husband sliced the left over brats and put them on a frozen pizza--Hello? Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
It's the age-old question... which came first, the beer boil or the grill? I've tried both methods and I tend to gravitate toward this one. The gentle poaching fully cooks the brats and leaches out some of the fat which can cause flame flare-ups on the grill. Plus, I just like the fact that this is a primo do-ahead recipe. Poach in the a.m., refrigerate until dinnertime, finish on the grill. Oh, and the beer caramelized onions are sooo not to be missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Love them but I made some changes: i only used 2 bottles of beer with 10 brats and I used 2 large onions sliced in rings. I boiled them uncovered until the beer was gone and all that remained were the brats and fully cooked onions that were starting to carmelize. I moved the brats to the grill and browned them up....then topped them with the carmelized onions. Great reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Very good! Excellent flavor. I, too, used Newcastle brown ale, fresh garlic and sliced up 3 onions vs only 1 (we like lots of onion on our brats). I thought the 2 tsp red pepper flakes was a tad too much heat so next time I will use only 1 tsp. I also simmered the brats for 30 minutes instead of only 15 min. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great table-fare. Boiled as said but only used 1 tsp. red pepper flakes and then grilled to perfection. Returned to the beer broth to keep warm until all the guest arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENCAROLH
Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were amazing. I used newcastle brown ales and added an orange bell pepper in with the onions. I also used minced garlic instead of powder. I boiled the brats for about 30 min and this gave the beer more time to cook into the brats and reduce. I grilled the brats on low and kept reducing the beer on high until I had a wonderful chuttney. Wonderful dish. I will definitly do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Thanks good recipe! I did add butter to the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States