Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Why boil out the flavor? Try this, low and slow on the grill (I prefer charcoal or wood chunks), indirect heat is best for about 30-45 minutes. While the brats are cooking take 3-4 cans of beer and 1/2 to 1 stick of butter, thin sliced onion, salt, pepper and other seasonings to taste. Heat on the grill in foil pan. More or less beer depending on pan size, # of brats and thurst of the cook! Put brats in beer sauce and let simmer. Brats will stay juicy and flavorful for 2-3 hours. great for picnics, ball games, camping, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I will try this again using only one beer because the seasonings were just too diluted. I also will probably use 3 onions cut into half rings to have plenty to put on the sandwich; I will sweat the onions in a little butter before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was extremely easy to make, and adds a LOT of flavor to the onions! The first time I made it I used a dark stout beer and the taste was too strong for the onions. The second time I used a Heffeweisen and it turned out great. That is the the beer we will be using from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I am sorry to say that I didnt notice any added flavor by doing this method. They were good before and good now, but not sure its worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Photo by kelly
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Can't believe the difference in plain grilling brats - these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Made this for our memorial weekend get together everyone seemed love it.... the onions were great for a garnish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacyjae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Park, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wow! These were very good!! I followed the recipe exactly, using 3 - 15ounce cans of Guiness. I don't even like brats and my husband isn't fond of them either, however, he did request them for Memorial Day. So I thought I would give these a try and we both thought they were very good! This will be the only way we prepare brats from now on!! Thanks for sharing your recipe Zach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
very good/flavorful. i use this recipe several times a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigoblu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Very tasty. We are not big meat eaters, but wanted something to do on the grill for a camping trip. These brats were perfect! The boiling in beer helped cook the fat out of them first, then they browned up really nicely on the grill. The onions had a great flavor. We'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I used Yuengling Black & Tan and an extra onion. I also pan fried them instead of grilling them because I don't have a grill! They turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States