Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very good and flavorful. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe as stated, but I followed another review and continued to reduce the onion and beer mixture. I also added olive oil (about 1-2 tablespoons) to the beer reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe for a test run. I used Amstel light as that's what we had in the house. Even my brother the skeptic went for seconds so am definitely making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Love them, nice easy recipe to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Not bad, but wouldn't go out of my way to do this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Beer doesn't make saussages any different. I didn't descover any new taste with this recipe. Onion resulted really bitter after being cooked in beer. I added some sugar and caramelized it. At the end, it was OK. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIOG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I read the reveiws about a lot of folks having them come out dry boiling them first. I think the key here is the difference between "par boil" and "boil to death". Using pork sausage I do want them well done and without par boiling it is hard to do that without getting the sausage overdone on the grill. I do par boil...but just enough to partially cook and finish on the grill. I was starting with frozen sausages so I simmered them long enough to defrost before I left for work in am, tossed them in the dish in the fridge to sit for the day to stew and finished on the grill when I got home from work. Simmering them for 12 min first might be a bit more than a par boil though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Lots of flavor! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is one of our favorite ways to make brats--although we usually only use one beer and add water--we also use a foil pan to cook them in a foil pan as having it a little more shallow allows the onions to carmelize a bit more, and also the foil makes for quick clean up. We've never noticed a change in the flavor with more or less beer in the mix--and that way there are more beers to drink. ;o) My favorite part about this is that you don't end up with over done/burned brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckTX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Being from Wisconsin, I've used this recipe (or one very similar) for 45 years. The only way to provide perfectly browned and juicy brats for your guests. I only simmer them for ~ 20 minutes-just enough to get rid of the excess grease. This prevents not only splitting (poor presentation), but also severe mouth trauma from squirting juices on those first, dangerous bites! Grill on low or to the side with charcoal, and saute the onions for use in the bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States