Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These brats were so yummy! We didn't top the brats with the beer mixture. I caramelized several onions and served the brats on hoagie rolls--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I'm not a fan of beer or brats but holy smokes these are super good. Used two 25 oz cans of the cheapest beer I could find, two onions and sliced 5 garlic cloves in place of the garlic powder. Hubby and our friends loved, loved, loved them. This is the first time I've had a brat and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Very good and so easy for a large crowd. I took the tip of another reviewer who kept the brats warm in the crockpot as it freed up the grill for other barbecue items and it kept the brats warm during the entire cookout. I also added a some butter as suggested by another reviewer. This was really good. The recipe mentioned sauerkraut; but didn't provide instructions on how that was cooked? Any ideas from anyone if it would work out if you added it to the beer broth?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
As a Wisconsinite I would rate this 3 only because you have the right idea. I've tried them both ways, but this is the way my local butcher recommends you prepare his homemade Brats. The brats are grilled first then put in beer and onion in a crockpot. I use a can of beer and a can of water, one sliced onion (same ratio to cover brats). Let em simmer 1-2 hours, yummy and the most tender brat you will ever enjoy. The process is all about the tenderness and of course flavor. I 've even done this and refrigerated over nite. Skimmed massive amounts of fat off, and reheated. Then you can spend time enjoying your guests, instead of cooking. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Gerhartz

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
The sauce had no flavor except pepper; ditto for the onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Excellent! Used Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage Brats. Followed recipe exactly. Took about 7 minutes to cook. Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Absolutely phenomenal....just the way the recipe states. I use a good German beer like Warsteiner and make sure you get some real German mustard otherwise known as "Senf". A few notes: don't prick the brats with a fork, the flavor of the beer and onions will definitely penetrate deeper but all that goodness and all the moisture will run out as soon as you put them on the grill. They taste AMAZING just the way the recipe says. I have no idea why the author says to save the beer-boiled onions as a side, I honestly think it's a joke and a funny one at that - they are the most bitter thing I have ever tasted lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this tonight and my whole family loved it!! I have a very picky 4 year old and he said "yummy mommy this is good"??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I won't be making brats like this again. They were to spicy for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for our Super Bowl Gathering and they were a huge hit! Simple and easy, they came out perfectly tender on the inside with a crispy outside... Just the way we like our Brats! I have to say that these are better sans the bell peppers most recipes call for which IMHO can sometimes overpower the delicate taste of a Brat Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States