Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I recommend using a hoppy beer for this (Sierra Nevada Pale Ale works well, as do any IPA's) and, if serving on buns, mixing ketchup and curry powder for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I was skeptical about this but gave it a try. It was delicious and a winner! Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I have used this for small and large parties. It has also become the recipie for my son's Boy Scoup Troop's court of honor. I just cooked 72 brats for the troop and they turned out great. Only difference is I add all ingredients to the pot with the brats and let them soak for 24 hours. I use the cheapest drinkable beer I can find. I have used Guiness and Killians Red and you could not taste much difference from the Miller High Life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
THIS is how brats should be done! So simple yet so perfect! Didn't change a thing about this recipe, the kicked-up onions were absolutely delicious, and the brats grilled up fat & juicy & packed with flavor. We don't have an outdoor grill (city dwellers) so I grilled these on my cast iron stove-top griddle/grill & it worked great. We love brats & these are the best BY FAR! Thank you SO much for sharing this awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Thought this was really good. Only changes I made were using 22oz of beer instead of 4 cans, and only a couple of dashes of red pepper flakes. Once the brats were cooked in the beer and place on the grill, I reduced the beer completely and carmelized the onions. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I would give these 4 1/2 stars if I could! I made these for a family cookout and everyone loved them. They do have a little kick to them so if you don't like spicy I would cut back or elimate the red pepper! We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Why boil out the flavor? Try this, low and slow on the grill (I prefer charcoal or wood chunks), indirect heat is best for about 30-45 minutes. While the brats are cooking take 3-4 cans of beer and 1/2 to 1 stick of butter, thin sliced onion, salt, pepper and other seasonings to taste. Heat on the grill in foil pan. More or less beer depending on pan size, # of brats and thurst of the cook! Put brats in beer sauce and let simmer. Brats will stay juicy and flavorful for 2-3 hours. great for picnics, ball games, camping, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I will try this again using only one beer because the seasonings were just too diluted. I also will probably use 3 onions cut into half rings to have plenty to put on the sandwich; I will sweat the onions in a little butter before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was extremely easy to make, and adds a LOT of flavor to the onions! The first time I made it I used a dark stout beer and the taste was too strong for the onions. The second time I used a Heffeweisen and it turned out great. That is the the beer we will be using from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I am sorry to say that I didnt notice any added flavor by doing this method. They were good before and good now, but not sure its worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Ferrill Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States