Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I never rate a recipe as I rely on the women to tell if its good or not. But this stew has to be spoken up about. It is purely a mans stew. Strong and robust I made this on a hunting trip with my buds they just loved it. It realy is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent! As someone who is not a fan of corned beef, I was looking for another main dish I could serve. This was it! I did brown the meat and coat it in flour as the recipe directs, but then I put all ingredients in the slow cooker for 7 or 8 hrs on low. Perfect! Also didn't want to hear it from my critics about "ruining" their mashed potatoes with cabbage so I pureed the cooked cabbage and then blended it into the potatoes. It did have a very light green tint but I made no replys to the comments and no one was the wiser!:) I also held out the bacon pieces and let those who like bacon add it at the table. If everyone likes bacon I would definately not leave this out as it gave the colcannon a finishing touch. This is definately a keeper! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING! I didn't have a dutch oven. I made the stew in a pot on top of the stove then put it into a casserole dish to bake in the oven. I never had a good "stew recipe" before. I followed it exactly and got nothing but huge raves. The gravy is dark and so very flavorful. You must serve with biscuits for dunking. Thank you so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavenderdejectedmoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Excellent! I made this recipe as written, except I doubled it and sauteed the cabbage for the Colcannon in my bacon pan instead of microwaving. The stew will thicken and reduce, so be careful with the salt - I added half before putting in the oven and then (very lightly) salted to taste when it was done. The Colcannon is perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Holy moly, this recipe is amazing. I only had 2lb of meat on hand, but treated the recipe as the original 8 servings for the remaining ingredients. This is so delicious. I used 4 cloves of garlic because I love it, and since I had ground thyme instead of dried leaves, used 1/2 tsp. When browning the meat, I salted and peppered the meat to impart flavor throughout the cooking process, but still added the salt and pepper called for later in the recipe. For the colcannon, I used about 3 times the milk called for. These changes are all minor, and I would trust this recipe over and over! It's wonderful! Can't wait to eat it again, and I'm still finishing my plate. :) **Update: Don't use Guinness! I used Guinness the 2nd time I made this and the bitterness was overwhelming for my 2lbs of meat and really ruined the dish for me. Using a less bitter beer is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Really really good. I made it with Irish Champ instead of Colcannon because I didn't have cabbage, but the recipe was wonderful. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! I made the stew with a can of Guinness beer. After browning the meat in a skillet, I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for 7 hours. The meat was very tender. The colcannon was delicious. I made the entire dish ahead of time and microwaved it when we were ready to eat. The stew and colcannon combination is really good together. The adults loved it and my kids ate it without complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Amazing! Everyone loved it. Didn't change a single thing. Made with Rogue's Dead Guy Ale but next time I think I'll use Guiness Extra Stout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this last night for supper and my five year old(who never likes anything I cook)not only finished everything on her plate, but asked if I would make it again tonight!!!I made the recipe exactly as written. Everyone loved this dish. Thanks for fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syphira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a terrific flavored stew. I omitted the flour and used guiness beer. Even though I only used 1lb of beef I kept the same ratio of braising liquid and braised on the stove top covered for 3 hours 15 minutes to a tender meat. I don't bother with thick sauces or reducing - the flavor of the braising liquid and the veg and meat was like an au jus over the colcannon. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States