Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was the hit of our St. Patrick's Potluck! I made the colcannon with turkey bacon, and it came out great! Like it so much, I plan on making that as a side for other dishes. The beauty of it is that it was so flavorful, none of the kids realized they were eating a veggie along with the potatoes! Great recipes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was awesome! My mom that doesn't like anything loved this as did my 3 year old :) Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A new family fave! Changes: Put in the slow cooker for 8-9 hrs on low I still browned the meat and I used olive oil. Added beef broth as needed and sauce was still very thick. Added about 2 cups of beef broth. Used instant red potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPestana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I really didn't think my family would like it because of the Guinness. No fear. It was loved and my husband even commented that Colcannon was needed to balance the rich flavor of the stew, preferring it to plain mashed potatoes. Thank goodness for an alternative to corned beef. Next time, I'm going to try it with lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I was very impressed with this recipe. It does take some time to cook, but the results were great. I didn't have a dark beer at the time. I used one cup light beer and 1/3 cup port wine. Again, very good. My only suggestion would be to up the amount of ingredients, especially the colcannon. I followed the directions as is, for 8 servings, and only got about 4 decent size servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
LOVE it! Even the picky 5 and 2 year olds loved it. Used Guinness as my dark beer, organic, grass-fed beef and kale instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used Guiness and some extra seasonings on the meat. I also simmered it with the lid on for several hours and the meat was melt-in-your-mouth tender! I took this to a St Patrick's Day dinner and it was a huge hit! Next time I am going to save myself a huge amount of time by buying stew meat that is already cut up! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wonderful flavor, wonderful aroma. I used beer I had on had instead of dark beer, but it's hard to imagine this could taste any better than it did. I've never reviewed anything on this site before, but this is so good I had to rate it. My husband, who usually just eats what's put before him, raved about it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made this for St. Patrick's Day instead of my usual corned beef and cabbage......the guys said I didn't make enough. It was a big hit and so easy to make. The flavors were so wonderful together. I'll be making this more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjmurphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States