Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I though this was so-so. However we only made the stew and substituted instant mashed potatoes. I think I would try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcrawford13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was so yummy on a cold Ohio winter day. My husband and 3 boy just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Ferguson-Monnin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Really, really tasty!! Husband says it's a keeper and so does my 3 yr old. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Excellent dish! I followed the recipe, didn't make any changes, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheriT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
5 stars! I, sort of followed the recipe. I did as any cook would do and jazzed it up; a little of this and a pinch of that. My stove broke as I was preparing this dish so out came the crock pot. I did the bacon dripping thing on the cabbage; was great. Really, the cabbage dish is a meal unto itself. Got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
VERY GOOD! Made stew with out Colcanno. added chunks of potatoes. Served with biscuits. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed other reviews: Made the recipe for 8 as written but used only 2 lbs of meat for family of four and enjoyed some leftovers of this great dish! Sauteed cabbage in the bacon pan after removing most of the grease. Used 3x the milk for colcannon. Salted meat before browning and added the salt called for but it ended up a bit too salty, will stick to recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This stew is grand! I have made many stews so far but they always seemed to be missing something. This stew however embodied the flavors I expect of a stew...full rich and savory! I doubled the carrots and onions and took a German Schwarzbier instead of a Guinness to give the stew a little more body....it was sublime! So good that it would make a good low budget Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delish! I use elk instead of beef or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaDarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
made this last night for a guests and they all loved it. my step son actually has seconds. the Calcannon interested me because of the promise of added texture that the cabbage would bring to the potatoes. it did not disappoint. i will be making it again in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States