Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
5 stars! I, sort of followed the recipe. I did as any cook would do and jazzed it up; a little of this and a pinch of that. My stove broke as I was preparing this dish so out came the crock pot. I did the bacon dripping thing on the cabbage; was great. Really, the cabbage dish is a meal unto itself. Got raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
VERY GOOD! Made stew with out Colcanno. added chunks of potatoes. Served with biscuits. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed other reviews: Made the recipe for 8 as written but used only 2 lbs of meat for family of four and enjoyed some leftovers of this great dish! Sauteed cabbage in the bacon pan after removing most of the grease. Used 3x the milk for colcannon. Salted meat before browning and added the salt called for but it ended up a bit too salty, will stick to recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This stew is grand! I have made many stews so far but they always seemed to be missing something. This stew however embodied the flavors I expect of a stew...full rich and savory! I doubled the carrots and onions and took a German Schwarzbier instead of a Guinness to give the stew a little more body....it was sublime! So good that it would make a good low budget Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delish! I use elk instead of beef or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaDarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
made this last night for a guests and they all loved it. my step son actually has seconds. the Calcannon interested me because of the promise of added texture that the cabbage would bring to the potatoes. it did not disappoint. i will be making it again in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
The beef was fantastic this way. Cutting up the meat was the biggest chore, and all the work is on the front end. The only change I made from the recipe was to saute the cabbage in a bit of the bacon grease instead of microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is the only beef stew recipe I can imagine ever using again. I made it as written, it was delicious. I doubled the beer to make it soupier and added about 1 1/2 tb of brown sugar to cut the bitterness, and it was delicious. I made it today but just added the potatoes diced, used 32 oz of beef stock (had a recovering alcoholic eating with us) and a fresh tomato, and it was delicious. Can't really go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did omit the beer, and added a bunch of veggies it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I used just the stew part of the recipe and OMG yum. I browned the beef and threw all the other ingredients into the crockpot to cook throughout the day. I used a bottle of Killian's Irish Red. My roomies loved it too, I was quite stingy with the leftovers I'm afraid! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States