Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I really wanted to like this by the number of high reviews, but, this didn't work at all for us. I made exactly as the recipe stated using Guinness dark beer. It turned out unbelievably strong and bitter. The colcannon had good flavor, but, we couldn't eat the stew at all. Recipe called for dark beer....maybe the problem was using Guinness, but, this did not work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I pan seared my beef and then cooked for about 5 hours on low in a crockpot. It came out perfect. As for the potatoes, they are perfect as is, but I added some dried minced onion and a little cream cheese and sour cream, which makes them a little creamier. This goes great with the Irish Soda Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
what a great alternative to corned beef! I actually did this with chicken b/c i'm not a beef fan. It was still delicious! I followed the recipe except i did it on the stove. The colcannon was one of the best i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Irish stew we give a two or three, mashed potatoes were a 4 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Stew was easy to make and didn't have ton's of ingredients. I did have to season more than the recipe stated though. The colcannon was great! I had never put bacon in mine before. I also use leek in my colcannon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was fantastic. I followed the recipe, cooking methods, and plating near exact. I realized the beef I bought was only 2lbs and not 3, but used it anyhow. I highly recommend buying the beef pre-cut or having the butcher do it. That was the most time consuming part. I have a covered microwave bacon cooker, so I just cooked it that way. It saves on dishes and mess. I also did a thick cut bacon, and cooked it until very crisp. I weighed the 2 large russet potatoes, I used, and they came out to be about 1.5 lbs and so I just used that amount. For the beer I used a bottle of Sam Adam's as that was what I had. I liked the stew, but found the colcannon to be absolutely delicious. It is so creamy! The only downside, is, I only got about 4 servings. However, I enjoyed the meal and the two recipe parts complimented each other well. TY ~ Happy St. Patricks Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used Guinness and followed the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Word to the wise. Do not use Guinness Stout. My guinness loving husband and I found it so bitter as to be inedible. I have strained off the broth and I am trying to rescue it with beef broth and seasonings. This seems unfair to rate since it appears the beer is at fault. i have had several friends who made it and they loved it, but they did not use a bitter stout. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Made exactly as written using Guinness Stout for the dark beer. I did add some mushrooms (sautéed) that I had in the fridge, and I'd do that the next time, too. The colcannon is good enough to stand on its own as a side dish. Very different from any beef stew that I've ever had, but we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was excellent! I substituted Kale for the cabbage and added freshly chopped onions to the Colcannon (at the suggestion of my friend from Dublin). I browned the meat on the stove top, added the flour and then put everything in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States