Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was yummy. Next time, during the second part of the braising process, if I do it in the oven, I need to remember to stir every 15 minutes or so. The top part was pretty brown and dried out when I took it out so I stirred and put the lid back on to rehydrate so that was fine. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor and easy to make! Made without preplanning, so I didnt have any cabbage, so just made the mashed potatoes. My entire family loved it. I had an Oktoberfest beer to use and it tasted great, not bitter at all. I used chuck steak vs. roast, which made it quicker to cube as that is what I had planned to cook and was just looking for a different recipe. Will be making this alot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
The whole family loves this which is a miracle considering we have six children, several of which are picky eaters. We don't drink alcohol so substituted beef broth for the beer and it was still amazingly delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I added celery and would probably add just a little more beer next time. I used Rock Art Brewery Stump Jumper Gnarly Stout and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I added mushrooms and used beef stock instead of beer; also added a pinch of cinnamon for flavor depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLexiSC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This stew is Great ! The Colcannon is good too, but I like Diane's Colcannon a little better. So I make this stew and Diane's Colcannon (which I use diced ham instead of the bacon) for St. Patty's Day ! Can't wait till St. Patty's Day; can almost smell that stew acookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Ooooh, this was good! I didn't think I'd like the colcannon, but it was awesome. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Yummy!!!A must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this St. Patrick's eve, cooking entirely on stove top. I steamed the cabbage a bit longer to make it more tender, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. A hit with hubby and all 4 kids! So delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Masian Wack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I hate to be such a downer, but this was not to my liking at all. :( Admittedly, I only made the stew part of this recipe, so I am basing my opinion solely on that part of it. Since I was only cooking for two people, I scaled everything by half (I made 4 servings worth, expecting leftovers). As such, I used half a bottle of beer (Guinness Stout) - but I wish I would have used the entire bottle instead.... After removing the lid from my Dutch oven (i.e. after the first 45 minutes), my stew wasn't as saucy as I thought it "should" be. By the time I took my stew out of the oven, most of the liquid had completely evaporated. My meat was dry and overcooked and the stew itself had a bitter aftertaste. Considering this was the star of our St. Paddy's Day meal, everything else I served with it lost its appeal as well. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for me. Thanks anyways, MNIKOLAISEN. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States