Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a fantastic, flavorful stew. And so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
First time making an Irish stew and colcannon. This is a great recipe for a first time attempt at either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Delicious!! The stew is really good served over the colcannon. I used lager since that is what I had and it was still delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow I can't believe how good this is. It's a bit of work, but worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is perfect! I wanted some good old fashioned comfort food due to the cold weather today and got to thinking about my Grams irish stew ofcourse i dont have her recipe so i came here.Glad i did!She served hers over colcannon also and this was what i wanted and this recipe is perfect as is!I felt like i was back in Grams kitchen eating dinner!Love it! and my kids both loved it as well!No leftovers! The only thing i did differantly was i cooked it in the crock pot & throw in peas becuase she always had peas in hers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was excellent! I didn't have any dark beer so I just used regular beer but added a bit of molasses. I also only had a pound of stewing beef so decided to try something completely different - I added about a pound of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into cubes. Used red cabbage instead of green because that's what I had in the fridge. Gave the potatoes a unique colour. Overall, the flavour of the whole meal was superb - especially the potato, cabbage, bacon combination. And like others, I did not cook the cabbage in the microwave - I sauteed it a bit in the bacon pan. Definitely a keeper! (My mouth is watering just thinking of this dinner - we had it last night and I could eat it again tonight but, alas, no leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
If I could give this a 6 stars rating, I would. This was amazing. My picky kids even liked it. I did however change a couple of things. I added salt and pepper to the meat while searing. I also didn't use a roast but rather already cut stew meat, which made it easier. I cooked it for 8 hours on low in a crock pot. I also added a flour rue to thicken the stew towards the end. It was perfect! Oh and I used a 14oz can of Guiness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a terrific flavored stew. I omitted the flour and used guiness beer. Even though I only used 1lb of beef I kept the same ratio of braising liquid and braised on the stove top covered for 3 hours 15 minutes to a tender meat. I don't bother with thick sauces or reducing - the flavor of the braising liquid and the veg and meat was like an au jus over the colcannon. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Holy moly, this recipe is amazing. I only had 2lb of meat on hand, but treated the recipe as the original 8 servings for the remaining ingredients. This is so delicious. I used 4 cloves of garlic because I love it, and since I had ground thyme instead of dried leaves, used 1/2 tsp. When browning the meat, I salted and peppered the meat to impart flavor throughout the cooking process, but still added the salt and pepper called for later in the recipe. For the colcannon, I used about 3 times the milk called for. These changes are all minor, and I would trust this recipe over and over! It's wonderful! Can't wait to eat it again, and I'm still finishing my plate. :) **Update: Don't use Guinness! I used Guinness the 2nd time I made this and the bitterness was overwhelming for my 2lbs of meat and really ruined the dish for me. Using a less bitter beer is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made this last night for supper and my five year old(who never likes anything I cook)not only finished everything on her plate, but asked if I would make it again tonight!!!I made the recipe exactly as written. Everyone loved this dish. Thanks for fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syphira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States