Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My review is based only on the Irish Stew portion as I didn't make the colcannon. The meat turned out very well and was fall apart good. The stew was good but I feel it needs something else to give it a flavor boost. Next time I would definately add more veggies. I felt the meat to veggie ratio was way off, and needed more color and substance. All in all a good recipe that could be great with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinagail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I have made this receipe over and over again since finding it last St. Patrick's Day. It is the best stew I have ever tasted. I do not change a thing and it always turns out the best. Even my picky kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
So good. All my 4 kids liked it, which is a major challenge. Putting it on mashed potatoes made it a total comfort food. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I was so happy with how this stew turned out. The only changes I made were to use pre-cubed beef stew meat, Guinness instead of beer, and pre-crumbled bacon for the colcannon (I ran out of time and just so happened to have some in my refrigerator). The colcannon was just buttery enough and the cabbage was perfectly cooked. I always hand-mash my potatoes, so that's the only change I made to the methods. The stew had the perfect amount of liquid and the beef was so tender. The carrots didn't turn to mush, which I was concerned about. The overall flavor was excellent. My husband even loved it! I will definitely make this recipe in the future. In fact, I'm thinking about serving it to friends next time we have them over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We tried this recipe for the first time on Sunday evening. I've never tried Colcannon before and it is delicious! I found it amazing that mixing simple ingredients such as mashed potatoes, cabbage, and bacon could make such a wonderful combination! My oldest daughter is not a fan of mashed potatoes or cabbage, but she ate a plate full of the Colcannon! The stew for me was average (3-4 stars), but I honestly believe it was due to an error that I made. I did not buy the right kind of roast meat and I didn't add enough beer. My stew ran out of liquid, so I added broth and it didn't come out very flavorful. The beef flavor of the meat I chose (it was on sale) was overpowering. I still give the recipe 5 stars though because I think it would be 5 stars if I had done it correctly. The heavenly Colcannon deserves 5 stars on its own! Even with the errors, everyone said it was very good and they want me to make it again on St. Patrick's Day! I definitely want to give it another try, this time using the right meat. I'm excited to see how it turns out this time around. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
YUMM! Really, really, really tasty! I'm making this frequently from now on. I used guiness and it was delish! Next time I'm just going to get already cut stew meat, because it took forever to cut it into chunks and remove all the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very delicious, hearty, and rich. I didn't have any really dark beers around so I fittingly used and Irish Red Ale(one I actually homebrewed!) in this recipe and all of my friends loved it, it got demolished(in a good way). I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was outstanding - Thanks so much for the recipe! Even my picky husband raved over it. Apart from using twice as much milk in the potatoes, I made this exactly as written. I didn't uncover after 45 minutes though because it didn't need to be reduced any further. Next time I'm going to increase the beer a bit, but that's all. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Amazing! It is so good! I love making it for people because whenI start mixing in cabbage to the mashed pots they look at me like I'm nuts... Then they taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States