Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I will be making this again! it was really good! i wanted something besides corned beef for st pat's day. I didn't have the dark beer. But it was still wonderful... i was really wondering if those potatoes with cabbage and bacon would be good. That was the best part, my husband even liked it, and said he would like it again too. It was very filling. I did not make a bunch of it though. I made the stew in my pressure cooker because i came home to late to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and I think it would have turned out really good except that I used an extra stout beer which made the stew really bitter. Fortunately, I found a nother recipe that called for extra stout beer + 3/4C chopped prunes to offset the bitterness. I had some prunes on hand so I added them and cooked it for another 45 minutes. Those prunes saved the dish and disintegrate into the broth almost completely. Next time I make it I'll use half beef broth and half beer + the prunes. Mmmm. A couple of reviewers have mentioned using Guinness beer without the stew being bitter. Don't make the mistake of thinking all Guinness is equal. There is a huge difference between canned/bottled Guinness Draught beer and Guinness Extra Stout beer (available in bottles only - without the little widget that makes the Draught beer foamy). Guinness Extra Stout has double the alcohol and significantly more hops than its Draught cousin. If you make this recipe with Guinness Extra Stout you WILL have a bitter stew on your hands. I am giving this recipe 4 stars because of the calcannon. 1/4 cup of milk was not nearly enough and I ended up using three times that amount to get the consistency I wanted. I also "made it naughty" by using 1/2 C butter + 2 teaspoons of the rendered bacon fat (I omitted the salt). Not exactly healthy but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Made this stew and colcannon for our St. Patrick's Day dinner. It was very delicious. Meat came out super tender and I loved the flavor of the stew. I used Yuengling Black and Tan. The colcannon was delish also. I will probably add more cabbage next time because I love cabbage. I didn't microwave the cabbage, I reserved a little bit of the bacon fat and fried the cabbage until it was tender. It is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My husband and I made this recipe together for a Pre-St. Patty's Day celebration dinner. It turned out very nice! We cooked the beer braised beef for half the time (we also halved the recipe and used 1lb of meat instead of 3lbs) and it still came out delicious. We took a slight detour with the cabbage. Instead of Microwaving it, we sated it w/ turkey bacon and eliminated the salt. Enjoying left overs today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent and easy! I ended up microwaving both the cabbage and bacon to simplify things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gruwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this dish! I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Since I often cook for company I am always looking for new recipes & since it is almost St. Patrick's Day I was looking for something Irish. I had never heard of Colcannon & thought it looked interesting even though I thought cabbage in mashed potatoes a bit unusual, I was game. Made it last night to serve tonight but since I had never had it before, my husband & I had it for dinner last night. YUM! It was delicious & the meat was so tender! I did make some changes out of necessity. Had no beer so I used molasses instead & it was SO good! Tonight I added peas ( because I was afraid there wouldn't be enough - for leftover's tomorrow!) & it was wonderful! Everyone ate it up! I liked it better without the peas but I still give it 5 stars! I will be making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was amazing!! The only thing I will do differently next time is to chop the cabbage rather than just thinly slice it...I think it will be easier to eat that way. Other than that, a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love this soup! My husband said I must save this recipe so I knew it must be really good. Followed the directions exactly and besides a little salt nothing else is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My review is based only on the Irish Stew portion as I didn't make the colcannon. The meat turned out very well and was fall apart good. The stew was good but I feel it needs something else to give it a flavor boost. Next time I would definately add more veggies. I felt the meat to veggie ratio was way off, and needed more color and substance. All in all a good recipe that could be great with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States