Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
DELICIOUS!! Made it exactly as written except for 1 bay leaf instead of 2 (ran out). SOOOO good. Flavorful, tender meat and carrots with "gravy" that was flavorful but not over powering of any one flavor. As good as the stew was, the potatoes are what set it apart and made this such an amazing dish. The only change would be to add more fresh parsley because it gives it such a unique taste (although this isn't necessary). Made this for St. Patricks Day but loved it so much it will be made again before next year. Thanks for the easy, restaurant quality meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made it pretty much exactly as written, except after braising I put it all in the crock pot on high for 4-5 hours. Only other change is that I cooked the bacon in the microwave rather than a pan, and it was low-sodium bacon. Used a can of Guinness. Came out gorgeous - not bitter. Husband says it's a 5 star meal. One reviewer commented that it'd be better with more veg, and I agree - another couple carrots would be good. I'm glad I didn't reduce the broth, because I really like lots of broth with the colcannon. Husband prefers less broth, but that's easy enough to do when serving - just use a slotted spoon. Surprisingly the colcannon wasn't as nice on its own (I tried it out of curiosity). The cabbage stands out too much with its inconsistent texture. But with the stew, it's incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
OMG!!! This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good basic stew. I made it in the crockpot and added some tomato paste to add some depth. The colcannon was really good. Very tasty and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I will be making this again! it was really good! i wanted something besides corned beef for st pat's day. I didn't have the dark beer. But it was still wonderful... i was really wondering if those potatoes with cabbage and bacon would be good. That was the best part, my husband even liked it, and said he would like it again too. It was very filling. I did not make a bunch of it though. I made the stew in my pressure cooker because i came home to late to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and I think it would have turned out really good except that I used an extra stout beer which made the stew really bitter. Fortunately, I found a nother recipe that called for extra stout beer + 3/4C chopped prunes to offset the bitterness. I had some prunes on hand so I added them and cooked it for another 45 minutes. Those prunes saved the dish and disintegrate into the broth almost completely. Next time I make it I'll use half beef broth and half beer + the prunes. Mmmm. A couple of reviewers have mentioned using Guinness beer without the stew being bitter. Don't make the mistake of thinking all Guinness is equal. There is a huge difference between canned/bottled Guinness Draught beer and Guinness Extra Stout beer (available in bottles only - without the little widget that makes the Draught beer foamy). Guinness Extra Stout has double the alcohol and significantly more hops than its Draught cousin. If you make this recipe with Guinness Extra Stout you WILL have a bitter stew on your hands. I am giving this recipe 4 stars because of the calcannon. 1/4 cup of milk was not nearly enough and I ended up using three times that amount to get the consistency I wanted. I also "made it naughty" by using 1/2 C butter + 2 teaspoons of the rendered bacon fat (I omitted the salt). Not exactly healthy but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Made this stew and colcannon for our St. Patrick's Day dinner. It was very delicious. Meat came out super tender and I loved the flavor of the stew. I used Yuengling Black and Tan. The colcannon was delish also. I will probably add more cabbage next time because I love cabbage. I didn't microwave the cabbage, I reserved a little bit of the bacon fat and fried the cabbage until it was tender. It is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My husband and I made this recipe together for a Pre-St. Patty's Day celebration dinner. It turned out very nice! We cooked the beer braised beef for half the time (we also halved the recipe and used 1lb of meat instead of 3lbs) and it still came out delicious. We took a slight detour with the cabbage. Instead of Microwaving it, we sated it w/ turkey bacon and eliminated the salt. Enjoying left overs today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Excellent and easy! I ended up microwaving both the cabbage and bacon to simplify things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gruwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone in my family loved this dish! I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States