Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was delicious!! I don't think the colcannon was enough for 8 people even though I added an extra big potato. I also doubled the onions and carrots, so it wasn't basically just meat and potatoes. I used Guinness. Great St. Patty's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper!!! The flavors all meld together so well and it is a wonderful meal to make for St. Patrick's Day! I did add extra onions and carrots, since I like to have a few more veggies in the stew. I used Guinness for the beer and it was great. The only change I made was for the colcannon. As suggested by other reviewers, I sauteed the cabbage in the bacon fat rather than using the microwave. The flavor was amazing! Thanks so much for the recipe - it got rave reviews last night at our St. Patrick's Day/College Basketball party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! I didn't reduce it as much as it called for because I like lots of broth. BIG hit at the Paddy's day potluck I took it to. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very good and very easy. I will definitely make again, although, due to personal preference, I may add more vegetables. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is such an great recipe. Very rich and decadent tasting. I used a big can of Guinness for the beer and the stew was awesome. Never had Colcannon before but it was so good. I cooked the cabbage in the bacon grease just for added flavor and had to stop myself from eating all the cooked cabbage by itself. Thanks so much for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I wanted to serve this for a Wednesday night church meal for about 90 people. I used O'Douls non-alcholic beer and added a can of beef broth and cooked it in a roaster oven for about 8-10 hours. The meat was falling apart tender. For the colcannon I used Hormel real bacon bits and Idahoan Brand instant potaotes to save time. The onlly other change was I forgot the fresh parsely. I had never made this before, so I'm not sure how the O'Douls changed the tastte, but everyone sure raved about it. I'm not a big cabbage fan, but the potatoes were great. Just a note: I always use the Idahoan instant potatoes for church meals and large gatherings and you can't tell the difference. Excellant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Delicious! I think next time I will add more carrots and onions to it and maybe even throw in some turnip. I might add some beef stock to it next time as well so there is a little more gravy. I used more garlic than it called for and a little less worcestershire sauce so it was more to our tastes. I didn't microwave the cabbage because there is really no need. I just put it in with the potatoes for the last 5 or 10 minutes and strained it all together. It was fabulous! Definitely one of our faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
DELICIOUS!! Made it exactly as written except for 1 bay leaf instead of 2 (ran out). SOOOO good. Flavorful, tender meat and carrots with "gravy" that was flavorful but not over powering of any one flavor. As good as the stew was, the potatoes are what set it apart and made this such an amazing dish. The only change would be to add more fresh parsley because it gives it such a unique taste (although this isn't necessary). Made this for St. Patricks Day but loved it so much it will be made again before next year. Thanks for the easy, restaurant quality meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made it pretty much exactly as written, except after braising I put it all in the crock pot on high for 4-5 hours. Only other change is that I cooked the bacon in the microwave rather than a pan, and it was low-sodium bacon. Used a can of Guinness. Came out gorgeous - not bitter. Husband says it's a 5 star meal. One reviewer commented that it'd be better with more veg, and I agree - another couple carrots would be good. I'm glad I didn't reduce the broth, because I really like lots of broth with the colcannon. Husband prefers less broth, but that's easy enough to do when serving - just use a slotted spoon. Surprisingly the colcannon wasn't as nice on its own (I tried it out of curiosity). The cabbage stands out too much with its inconsistent texture. But with the stew, it's incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
OMG!!! This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States