Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made this for St. Patrick's Day instead of my usual corned beef and cabbage......the guys said I didn't make enough. It was a big hit and so easy to make. The flavors were so wonderful together. I'll be making this more than once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjmurphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Sooooo good! Used the slow cooker, so I did have to add two cups of beef broth to keep the veggies under liquid the entire cooking time (7 hours on low). Then I thickened it at the end with some flour because we like a thicker stew. It was amazing! The colcannon was delicious as written! Used the leftovers for shepherd's pie after adding some peas. Two meals in one! Who could ask for more? Try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by totorothealmighty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My only complaint about this was there wasn't enough!!! OMG this was sooo good! The meat was incredibly tender, it melted in my mouth. There was five of us and the whole thing totally disappeared! I also used guiness - no trouble with bitterness. I think this was better than corn beef and cabbage. I added a couple of tablespoons of sour cream to the colcannon to enhance the creaminess. Deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So delicious! Very Rich flavor. I added an additional 6 oz. of Guinness, then at the end of cooking, tightened up the sauce with a cornstartch and cold water slurry. The sauce was so silky! Highly recommend this recipe. Made it for a potluck and not only did it get RAVE reviews, but the dishes came home empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this on St. Patrick's day since my husband is not a corned beef fan, and I am really glad I did. Such a wonderful and flavorful dish and the beef was unbelievably tender. Also loved the colcannnon! I made it almost exactly as written except I added a bit more milk and salt to the colcannon. I also added a little corn starch to the beef liquid to make it more gravy consistency. I used Harp Irish beer for the beef and it worked well. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. My husband does not want me to wait until next St. Patricks Day to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this in my pressure cooker for St. Patrick's day! It was wonderful. I cooked the stew for 20 min. at 15psi after browning the beef and then I cooked the diced potatoes and chopped kale in the pressure cooker for 6min. on a steamer with one cup of water. I did omit the bacon! I am in love with this kale potato recipe! And I will not save it for just St. Patrick's day! This is going in my regular menu! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzerf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This turned out well for my St. Patty's dinner but I would add the following chances. I added 4 carrots total and still would add more, if you want more gravy at the end of cooking, then add 2 c. of half beef broth, half chicken broth and leave the lid on while it cooks in the oven. I only had 1/2 c at most with 1 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Awesome! Big hit when I brought it in to work on St Patricks Day. I added more beer than it called for to make more broth/sauce. Just added a bit more of the seasonings to make up for it. Colcannon was awesome to. Recipe very easy to make, I did not stray far from recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JHAKGRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Fabulous! I won't be saving this for just St. Patrick's Day. It's very flavorful, and the meat is so tender it melts in your mouth. As for the colcannon, it was wonderful, too. I followed another reviewer's advice and cooked the cabbage in the bacon grease as opposed to steaming it in the microwave. That's definitely the way to go in my opinion. Not healthy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States