Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I made this in the crock pot. I have a timer so it cooked for 6 hours. (I like things that work while I sleep). Cooled it and put it in the fridge to reheat for dinner. The hubz gave it 5 stars. I made the potatoes with red potato but next time will use the potato type the recipe calls for. BUT....I had to make another batch because my husband ate the whole thing. Its delicious and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexander Ajede
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Incredible. I hate that it took so long, but it was well worth it. I'm usually bad with following directions and this is my second attempt at actually cooking from this site so I'm very pleased. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Ajede
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I wish the stew had more sauce, I would add a cup of beef broth before baking. The meat was tender. It wasn't my favorite, kind of bland. It was edible but not worth cooking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Really good! Definitely will make again. Only change I made was I used garlic pepper instead of regular pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobalt-Cherie Albright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Best stew I ever made. Followed other suggestions and used Guiness draught, not stout. Cooked this on low in my crock pot and it was perfect. There is no 'beer' taste to this - just a very good broth. Also, for the potatoes, I sauteed the cabbage and also some chopped green onions in the bacon grease before adding in with the mashed potatoes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is our new go-to stew recipe...made this for St. Patrick's Day since we had just had corned beef and cabbage...everyone was raving over it and my son said this is his new favorite meal!! Won't make beef stew any other way from now on!! (Did use 2 cans of Guiness Draught though to make enough sauce)...and also sauted the cabbage in the bacon fat as another reviewer suggested :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Noonan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe is excellent - thank you for sharing it! Some of the best stew I've ever made. Used an Arm Roast instead of a Chuck Roast. As other reviewers have mentioned, definitely add more milk than called for to the Colcannon otherwise it will turn out a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Wolleat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Enjoyed by all! New St. Patrick's Day tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Definitely should have made more potatoes! I was skeptical that I would not be able to get the cabbage past my boys and they loved it. I use white pepper and sour cream in my potatoes and used Sam Adams winter lager for beer. Outstanding and will definitely make again with double the colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Beer Braised Irish Stew and Colcannon" recipe was very delicious! I actually hate the taste of beer, but I wanted to make an authentic ale-based recipe from the land of my ancestors just for the experience. I was pleasantly surprised that the exceptionally flavorful gravy didn't taste anything at all like beer. I can't think of any way to improve this recipe: it is perfect "as is." I will be making it again many, many more times. Thank you MNIKOLAISEN for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States