Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was great! I didn't have any onions, but I will definitely try it with them next time. I cut way back on the butter, mainly because I served them with clarified butter. I also added garlic cloves and Old Bay. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is better than "outa this world"! I did reduce the butter (Whew!) to 2 sticks (to reduce my guilt) and then followed recipe as directed. I also saved liquid and used it in a big pot of shrimp creole and it was one of the best I've ever done and whatever guilt I had is long gone!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe was SO EASY that it's hard to believe it was SO GOOD!! My whole family LOVED it (even the kids). I halved the recipe, and still had plenty of stock left for soup or gumbo. I will be making this recipe again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I love this I am making it as I type for the second time. Great flavor only things I do different..... add a garlic clove and 1 tablespoon of old bay!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
WOW! I tried this recipe and it came out de-lici-ous! I actually made this with 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp, half the butter and 2 beers to boil in, followed the rest as stated and also took reviewers advise and added old bay.. I also added garlic and added bay leaves and let it sit for 30 minutes (shripm will not turn rubbery!). Came out stupendous! served with yellow rice and had a restaurant quality meal made by a trusty person (me, lol) I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe is EXCELLENT! Simple and simply delicious. I didn't change a thing and my entire family LOVED the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Never thought Corona and shrimp could taste so good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
we love this recipe! thanks so much for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have been making a recipe similar to this for ages. The only difference is I do not shell the shrimp but leave them in the shell to boil in the beer and then let everyone peel their own. I also omit the butter from the boiling and just serve it on the side with a lot of garlic for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I did this recipe with shell-on, de-veined shrimp, keeping the heat at a simmer until they just turned pink, then turning them out in a bowl with the liquid to steep for about 1/2 hour. The texture and flavor were excellent! The previous reviewers had it right about adding Old Bay Seasoning (omitting salt). 3/4 TBL per pound was about right. I also added a pinch of cayenne to give it a little top-note. Beware of heavily hopped beers. I used Miller High Life and it came out fine. Might be interesting to try with a simple ale, too, for a slightly sweet taste. Many previous reviewers added garlic. I did not, but I could tell that it would be a good addition. Definitely serve with a crusty french bread to soak up the juice! I'd pair it with a cucumber and vinegar salad and some radishes. GREAT recipe!! I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States