Beer-Boiled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is better than "outa this world"! I did reduce the butter (Whew!) to 2 sticks (to reduce my guilt) and then followed recipe as directed. I also saved liquid and used it in a big pot of shrimp creole and it was one of the best I've ever done and whatever guilt I had is long gone!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This recipe is okay, but missing the main ingredient!!! Old Bay or J&M seasoning adds what is lacking! Spicey and Delightful!!!Try it, you'll love it! No need to measure it, just dust it over the shrimp while it's steaming in the beer. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This recipe was SO EASY that it's hard to believe it was SO GOOD!! My whole family LOVED it (even the kids). I halved the recipe, and still had plenty of stock left for soup or gumbo. I will be making this recipe again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very good, but the shrimp didn't absorb as much flavor as I would have liked. I think next time I'll try adding a little seafood boil for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
We would definitely make this again with a mellower beer (my husband's treasured home brew made it a little too hoppy!). Good suggestion for adding Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I love this I am making it as I type for the second time. Great flavor only things I do different..... add a garlic clove and 1 tablespoon of old bay!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is SO good ! We seriously scaled back on the butter though . Did not let them sit the full 1/2 hour either as we were afraid they would be rubbery. Turned out great .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was great! I didn't have any onions, but I will definitely try it with them next time. I cut way back on the butter, mainly because I served them with clarified butter. I also added garlic cloves and Old Bay. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great, different taste than I'm used to in shrimp. Next time I would cut way down on the butter (was just a bit too rich for me as written), and add some garlic. I found that it was absolutely necessary to let the shrimp sit in the beer mixture for the full half-hour...improved the taste and made them exceptionally tender. My husband loved this dish! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
WOW! I tried this recipe and it came out de-lici-ous! I actually made this with 2 1/2 pounds of shrimp, half the butter and 2 beers to boil in, followed the rest as stated and also took reviewers advise and added old bay.. I also added garlic and added bay leaves and let it sit for 30 minutes (shripm will not turn rubbery!). Came out stupendous! served with yellow rice and had a restaurant quality meal made by a trusty person (me, lol) I would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States